>>
you're reading...
humour

Elf hazard

Happy_Halloween_1!

Daughter was sewing her costume for a Hallowe’en party. Yards of green cloth festooned the kitchen, the dogs were paw deep in pins.

You have to realise here that daughter is 17 and a fashion student. So she has Ideas. And is, like, creative. It was obvious, this year, that the gothic witchy look was being sidelined, for something more, well, green.

Ages later, she stood up and put the costume on. It was kind of like a sweeping toga with a hood. But, it has to be said, she looked pretty good.

‘What do you think?’ she asked, twirling in an emerald haze.

‘Great,’ said husband. ‘What is it?’

‘It’s elven, dad,’ she said patiently. ‘I’m going as an elf in Lord of the Rings. What do you think?’

Steve looked at her thoughtfully. ‘Have you got a High Vis Jacket?’ he said.

‘No. Why?’

‘Because then,’ he said. ‘You could go as Elf and Safety.’

Health and safety officer

Health and safety officer

 

Lady Galadriel

Lady Galadriel

Pictures via Creative Commons, courtesy of:

https://www.flickr.com/photos/depepi/8270100431/

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/e8/Happy_Halloween_1!.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/511ZZEWIF6L._SL190_CR0,0,190,246_.

 

 

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I lwant to; even when I can't think of much to say. I do a lot of work for local businesses - get in touch if you like my style.

Discussion

15 thoughts on “Elf hazard

  1. Laughing!! Elf and safety 😀 Clever!

    Posted by Christy Birmingham | November 5, 2014, 11:25 pm
  2. That is utterly pun-tastic. I am suitably impressed. Your husband should open up a sideline internet business: the Pun-in-ator. For all your fancy dress requirements.

    Posted by Tara Sparling | October 31, 2014, 11:34 pm
  3. A man after my own heart. Good elf to you all
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | October 31, 2014, 7:15 pm
  4. Brilliant story brilliantly told, as always, Elaine! And great too, that your daughter is old enough to elf herself!

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | October 31, 2014, 6:08 pm
  5. Love it! And I think elf and safety is a fantastic addition to her costume. I’d totally do it.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | October 31, 2014, 3:07 pm

Leave a comment

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter