>>
you're reading...
My words (a random display of my own creative writing)

Flash fiction

Sometimes, just the idea of writing trips us up and makes us falter. We don’t want to do it because it’s too much. We have the idea that we have to write a novel, or nothing. Why is that? The best writing is when we express ourselves honestly, and that doesn’t have to take pages.

Lillie McFerrin’s blog is described as the home of five-sentence fiction. She suggests a word, you write five sentences. This week’s word is ‘beauty’.

This is my attempt:

There was beauty that day in the church. The late winter sunshine flooded through the doorway and the loveliness of a lone flute soared like the pigeon that was up in the rafters. Of course the place was packed; you saw to that. But you had gone before we came. There was only the bird, exhausted, beating uselessly to get out.

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Flash fiction

  1. You could always come to my course, Mr T. It’s starting at the Percival Guildhouse on September 19. That’ll give your dormant characters a bit of a jolt (and me too, probably; it’s my first teaching session since I qualified). Best of luck, anyway.

    Posted by elainecanham | September 10, 2013, 9:00 am
  2. thanks elaine, you have made me feel guilty! time to get my notepads and pencil out again and wakeup my dormant characters.

    Posted by twistedman | September 10, 2013, 12:02 am

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

