>>
you're reading...
Shop talk (anything and everything on writing)

Onwards and upwards

Well, it’s been 30 days now since I’ve started blogging. I’ve written a post every day, except Saturday when I skived off (I’m sure my mum will write a sick note, if I ask her). Some have been thoughts on writing, some have been fictionalised accounts of my time as a newspaper reporter, some have been stories, and some have been rants about shopping and sexism.
I’ve been amazed at the nice things people have said; frankly any attention at all has amazed me, especially when Jools put me up for the One Lovely Blog award. The fact that people I’ve never met have struck up conversations over the web and encouraged me, has made me increase my writing output by about 1000% (although I’m no mathematician).
I came thinking I was just going to write tips on writing, in a take it or leave it sort of fashion, but found that, actually, I was learning from people who had much more to teach me. And of course, once you get involved in reading other people’s stories and about how they live, you can’t remain in splendid isolation, you become part of this extraordinary world of voices.
I’ve spent a lot of time here basically just gawping in wonder at other people’s skill; the stories they tell; the humour; the pathos and the strength.
So thank you, WordPressers. And on to the next 30 days. I wonder who I’ll meet next?

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

6 thoughts on “Onwards and upwards

  1. When I started Older Eyes four years ago, my plan was to write about Feeling Older. That was a bit too narrow for frequent posting, so I evolved to Reflections from an Older Perspective, which covers just about anything I want to write about, and is the only perspective I have these days. I have had several readers with whom I’ve corresponded for 3-4 years, and although I’ve never met them, they feel like friends. It is a most surprising phenomenon, indeed.

    Posted by oldereyes | October 9, 2013, 6:53 am
  2. I continue to enjoy your blog, Elaine, and I’m delighted to have become one of your early conversations. Keep going – it’s a great blog.

    Posted by Jools | October 6, 2013, 10:17 am
  3. I enjoy your blog. You deserve success!

    Posted by Brieuse Bernhard Piers-Gûdmönd | October 6, 2013, 5:04 am

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

