>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

What time is it?

I went clubbing on Friday. I mean, really. Our son has a band and he’s on tour, so we went to see him at this club in Nottingham. And it suddenly hit me how old I am. I was sitting in this enormous room (painted black, natch) and the fact that I was glad to find a seat should have been a bit of a giveaway to my deluded brain. It’s not that I want to get down with the kids, you understand, its just that I don’t know where the last 25 years have gone. I still think I’m about 30. Until I look in the mirror, of course.
I was just looking around, watching all these late teenagers and twenty-something students milling about and chatting and trying to look cool and confident, and wondering how I would feel about them if I were their age, when it of course occurred to me, that I am way old enough to be their parent. And I looked at my daughter who had also come along to see her brother and I thought, with a huge rush of embarrassment, she must have been the only girl ever to have gone to a club on a Friday night with her parents. She didn’t seem to mind though, either that, or she is the kindest person in the East Midlands. (I don’t want you to get the wrong idea here; if she wanted to go clubbing with her mates, her dad and I would not immediately get up and reach for our coats, too.)
And it was great to see our boy doing so well, and we didn’t do anything embarrassing like dancing or moving up to the front, or attempting to sing along, and afterwards he came and gave us a hug and took us to the hospitality bar, and the rest of the band gave our daughter high fives, and we all had a really good chat. And I’m glad he’s happy and living his dream.
But where has all the time gone? John Lennon said that life is what happens when you are busy doing something else. I suppose I’ve been so busy that I haven’t really looked up or looked around, or paid much attention when my knees creak as I dance round the kitchen to Radio Two (Radio Two…now that should have been a giveaway, shouldn’t it?) I’m not complaining, I think I’ve a pretty good time so far, and I’m hoping that I’ve still got some way to go, but I’m in shock. Can somebody please pass me the Sanatogen?

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “What time is it?

  1. Sanatogen tasted disgusting.

    Posted by Jools | October 31, 2013, 8:41 pm
  2. This is almost funny. I’ve been there – I’m a band Mom!. Well not so much anymore, but a few years ago my oldest son was in a band and we – the parents – would go and try to be supportive. It was always very late at night, way past my bedtime, and in some smoke filled, youth filled place where we stood out like sore thumbs. It was fun though. His brothers and sister would show up every time and dance and hoot at their brother, and they would eventually even come over and sit with the weirdos in the corner. We had some fun evenings all in all.
    It was always so amazing to see this oldest child of mine and the joy he got out of dancing and singing and playing the guitar like a crazy person. You never know how they’ll turn out. Quite a few surprises along the way.

    Posted by geanieroake | October 8, 2013, 11:25 pm
  3. Sanatogen? It used to be tonic wine in the sixties and seventies, and became a bit of a joke, like Spam. Now its just a brand of vitamins.

    Posted by elainecanham | October 7, 2013, 6:52 pm
  4. You’re only as old as you think you feel? Congratulations on getting as far as you have but I’m sure you have miles to go on the clock yet. Now there’s an odometer I’d like to put back! (Mine, I mean)
    And, what’s sanatogen then? If I may ask from the darkest colonies?

    Posted by penjedi | October 7, 2013, 5:13 pm
  5. I don’t know where time has gone, but you sound like a lovely family, with very supportive parents, and such people should and normally are welcome anywhere

    Posted by countingducks | October 7, 2013, 10:55 am
    • We were very welcome, although the bouncer looked at us a bit oddly. And I think it was his face that suddenly made me think how out of place we probably looked. But hey, bouncers, what do they know?

      Posted by elainecanham | October 7, 2013, 11:05 am
  6. Lovely posting thanks. I went to a 50 years since-starting-high-school reunion the other day. When I walked in the room I was shocked to discover how every one (other than myself!) looked old!

    Posted by Brieuse Bernhard Piers-Gûdmönd | October 7, 2013, 9:33 am
    • Yes, I know exactly what you mean. How could those guys, who used to have huge sideburns and hair that drove their dads mad, go bald?

      Posted by elainecanham | October 7, 2013, 11:03 am
  7. Way to go elaine, I take my shooting stick to such events….

    Posted by twistedman | October 7, 2013, 9:21 am

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

