>>
you're reading...
humour

On the mend

My brother and his wife flew over on Saturday from Canada for a week, and we planned a big family lunch on Sunday. So what I did I immediately do? Of course, I decided to repaint my office and put shelves up (actually, I just bought the shelves and my husband put them up at ten past midnight on Saturday). Why do I do this to myself, and my family? My best friend told me it’s displacement. But it’s not as if I ignore the main issue (christenings, landmark birthdays, big get togethers, whatever), I just need suddenly feel the need to achieve something else as well.

I simply can’t be constantly tidy and organised. My mother told me life was too short for housework, and I’m with her all the way. Asthma sufferers really shouldn’t attempt any spot check of my house. But give me a date for an occasion, and the day before, germ warfare breaks out. Not to mention, Fixing Stuff.

Last Christmas, my son announced he was bringing his new girlfriend to stay. Suddenly, the spanner, that had doubled as the shower switch for three years, was replaced with a proper plastic knob. This weekend, my husband, without me having to say anything, got the step ladders out, and sorted out the main light in my office, which has not worked for two years.

Today, the family arrived. Everything was spotless. Dinner was great. And nobody looked at my lovely new office, which was just as well, because the lights have gone again. But it doesn’t matter, I expect I’ll get my husband to mend them on Christmas Eve, while I’m stuffing the turkey and redecorating the hall.
<a

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

13 thoughts on “On the mend

  1. It seems to be one way to get the place tidier. Invite someone round.

    Posted by timthepoet | October 24, 2013, 12:57 pm
  2. So true. That’s why it’s important to have people stay over or have a big party at least once or twice a year–it’s the only way all the deep cleaning and home maintenance will get done. Just this last July we hosted a bridal shower and repainted our kitchen and living areas, cleaned our windows, got a new shower curtain, organized our closets (who’s going to look in there?) and so on. Hmmm… maybe I just need to plan more parties?

    Posted by jennifer Windram | October 22, 2013, 12:25 am
    • There is that, I suppose. But we’d have to have a party every day in our house to keep it clean. At the moment, it just looks as if we have a party every day.

      Posted by elainecanham | October 22, 2013, 9:51 am
  3. My bedroom gets hoovered regularly…every time I have people to stay who need a double bed. In 2009 and in 2011.

    Posted by Jools | October 21, 2013, 6:28 pm
  4. I don’t know why we even think about letting them in.

    Posted by elainecanham | October 21, 2013, 4:41 pm
  5. We had friends over the other night, and before they got here I spent 30 minutes cleaning the bathroom. No one ever went there. Oh well, at least it’s spotless, should the hygiene police stop by.

    Posted by geanieroake | October 21, 2013, 4:18 am
    • I love that phrase, hygiene police. And who are they, anyway? I mean, if a couple of blokes in bio suits stopped by your house, would you really say to them, oh yes officers, come and inspect my new shower knob/sparkling bathroom/immaculately tidy cupboard under the stairs?

      Posted by elainecanham | October 21, 2013, 9:14 am
    • No, people in bio suits are scary, also the cupboard under my stairs is not immaculate nor even tidy. The BPs would lock me up and throw away the key.

      Posted by geanieroake | October 21, 2013, 3:52 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

