>>
you're reading...
Shop talk (anything and everything on writing)

Sunshine award

sunshine-award

One of the nicest, and certainly quirkiest, bloggers I know, Jennifer Windram, has nominated me for the Sunshine Award, which is particularly pleasing, because the rain is battering my window at the moment. Thanks, Jennifer.

To accept the award I must list 10 things about myself and then nominate other bloggers for the award.

10 things? Really?

I went to Vienna once, just because I’d seen The Third Man, and on the way home I shared a train compartment with a coffee filter paper salesman who taught me how to sing The Chattanooga Choo Choo in Hungarian. I can still sing the first verse. I just tried.

My ambition is to write a radio play for BBC Radio 4. There, I’ve written it down now, so I’ll have to attempt it.

Two years ago my kids learnt how to sail, so I went along too, and I’ve got my RYA certificate, but I wouldn’t put me in charge of a boat where I had to change direction in a hurry.

I took redundancy in 2008 and I decided that, at last, I ought to get a college education. I signed up with the Open University and did course after course in a slightly mad, obsessive, no let-up way, and in a couple of weeks I go to Birmingham Symphony hall to collect my degree. I got a first in literature, and I still can’t believe I did it.

I also got a teaching certificate and now teach an evening class in creative writing, which I absolutely love. My students write the most amazing stuff. It really inspires me.

There was a point in my life when I couldn’t imagine doing anything but work on a newspaper. But if I were to do a pie chart of my life, journalism would only be a very small sliver. I think I just let life get in the way of pure ambition, and I’m glad I did.

And some really trivial things: I have a basket full of odd socks, in the hope that their partners will come back one day.

There are some books that I like to read over and over again, even when I know whole passages nearly off by heart.

I like making tea in a teapot.

And now I’d like an Oscar moment when I thank my family, without whom (from the sounds in the kitchen) I would probably be stacking the dishwasher and making tea instead of writing this.

Now I have to nominate up to ten fellow bloggers, “who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere”. (If I’ve mentioned you, you now have to do the same with the 10 things and the nominations, and link back to me) So here goes:

1)      Pieterk515

2)      Reckless acts of punctuation

3)      Loretta Livingstone

4)     My other voices 

5)     with big yellow dogs 

6)    whistles in the wind  

7)   visit jess sanz   

8)   linda vernon

9)  Little write lies

10) Jane Risdon

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

11 thoughts on “Sunshine award

  1. Hah! That would have been a hoot.

    Posted by geanieroake | November 12, 2013, 9:05 pm
    • the first line goes (phonetically with apologies to any passing Hungarians) in dul a yorsch, esich du chattanooga choo choo? way heg ben hooly kayoh, les noy resmibilioh.

      Posted by elainecanham | November 12, 2013, 11:22 pm
    • Ahh! LOL! A lot. I tried to sing it, but failed miserably. I wish you lived in the hood Elaine, you would be a great addition to our morning walking group. (We occasionally get in trouble for laughing too loud in the pre-dawn hours.)
      P.S. I once had a Norwegian speaking missionary teach me to say, “Oink, Oink, I am drunk.” It wasn’t on a train to Vienna though.

      Posted by geanieroake | November 13, 2013, 4:26 am
  2. Loved your answers. I feel like we’re kind of kindered spirits. I also have a missing soc basket. I have books I read over and over even though I don’t have time for new ones. I went back to school to get my associates – 2 year degree. Math just about killed me. i too had a coffee filter paper salesman teach me to sing chatanooga choo choo in hungarian . . . oh, wait a minuite. Maybe not.

    Posted by geanieroake | November 12, 2013, 5:49 pm
  3. Wow an award. Awesome. Now trying to find 10 interesting things about myself, that is the challenge… Can I talk about my wife and kids, for a change? It’s not all about me, you know… Watch this space for my reply…

    Posted by pieterk515 | November 9, 2013, 7:32 am
  4. I eventually give up on those odd socks and toss ’em. My husband has resorted to buying only one brand of athletic sock (in black and white) and one brand of dress sock (in black and navy), so they’re all the same. You still can end up with one without a mate, but it happens less frequently. And they’re easier to match when folding laundry… if and when we fold the laundry.

    Good luck on that radio play! Any ideas on what it will be about?

    Posted by jennifer Windram | November 9, 2013, 1:23 am
    • no. not one, unless its a sad woman who spends her time hunting for lost socks. It’s not really Indiana Jones territory, though, is it?

      Posted by elainecanham | November 9, 2013, 5:53 pm
  5. Congratulations on getting a first in English. I tried to do an electronics course with the OU while doing a job in electronics. It ruined my social life and when I’d finished it, I vowed to myself I wouldn’t do it again. When you said their partners I almost thought you said owners and imagined a long line of ‘ex’s at your door wanting their socks back. I know bizarre, but it’s been a long week.

    Posted by timthepoet | November 8, 2013, 6:07 pm
    • oh that made me laugh. What does that make me, a trophy sock collector (and a very busy one; the basket is full to the brim)? I just don’t know where they go. Perhaps I should take a photo.

      Posted by elainecanham | November 8, 2013, 6:26 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Ten things… | whistles in the wind - December 23, 2013

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

