>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

Please turn the taps off…

I suppose, before I start, that I ought to apologise to any Americans reading this, but would it be too much to ask for some cold weather? A bit of frost, maybe? I know snow is probably off the menu for this year, seeing as it’s all been sent to the States, but if whoever is in charge of the global weather department (British division) is reading this, could you please turn the taps off before this country overflows?

Rain in Somerset

I know I ought to be used to living in an atmosphere of grey cotton wool, and I had my family waterproofed some years ago, but still, I have not yet fully developed my gills, and my new fins have not, so far, arrived from ebay (apparently suppliers are working overtime).

I shouldn’t complain really; I don’t have a rowing boat moored to the bottom of the stairs, because I don’t live on a flood plain, or anywhere near the seafront at Aberystwyth, but last week it started raining in my son’s bedroom, and there is a damp patch the size of Australia in the easterly corner of my kitchen.

fire engine

The weather forecast today is something on the lines of, ‘We have a low weather front lining up in the Atlantic for today and another one arriving for tomorrow. There are flood alerts here, here and here. The only person not at risk of flood damage is Nelson, although we can’t say the same for his column.’ Actually, I made that last bit up. I had to, because I’m not sure the forecasters are bothering to turn up for work anymore; it’s been the same weather since November.

However, even if in America you’re finding it hard to breathe, and your kettle keeps freezing as soon as it’s boiled, spare a thought for one special brown dwarf star system – Luhman 16AB, home of the closest pair of brown dwarfs to Earth.

brown dwarf  

At just 6.5 light-years away, it is the third-closest system of any kind to our Sun, and the closest to the nearby star of Alpha Centauri.

Scientists using Nasa’s Spitzer telescope detected hurricane-force winds of 100-400 mph and temperatures of up to 1,227C. Which sounds quite toasty warm, but the astronomers also found clouds covering 50% of the brown dwarfs’ surfaces and they think the ‘rain’ is molten iron. Still, no mud, and I could always get my brolly reinforced…

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

15 thoughts on “Please turn the taps off…

  1. We too, here in New Zealand, are getting a lot of weather. In fact, weather seems to be all over the jolly place these days. Another great read, thanks Elaine.

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | January 8, 2014, 7:08 pm
  2. I too have a troublesome patch of ceiling as a result of recent repeated soakings. At first I wrote it off as a shadow, a trick of the light. But it has since expanded outwards in all directions (not the typical characteristic of a shadow, I think you’ll agree) and now it boasts an unsightly brown fringe. Undeniably, it is a damp patch which can no longer be excused away. Drat.

    Posted by Jools | January 8, 2014, 6:25 pm
  3. Yikes! It sounds like you’ve had as much rain as we’ve had cold and snow. I heard on the news yesterday that parts of the states were colder than Mars. Ah, winter. But then summer will come along and we’ll have record heat. Maybe we’ll be hotter than Venus?

    Posted by jennifer Windram | January 8, 2014, 4:51 pm
  4. I thought I was coming down with something when I saw a yellow crust forming round my mouth but it seems I’m growing a beak. All will be fine when the webbed feet arrive and my new feathers are waterproofed. I’m just trying to teach my mind that I can’t have white bread so be careful what you throw out as I paddle by please.
    Also, if you have any nails, my new neighbour, the very nice Mr Noah is running out and he’s promised m a ride in his new boat.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | January 8, 2014, 11:46 am
  5. Must admit, we’re also relatively sick of wet weather over here in SA. Summer is made for body surfing…but not in the street, in the ocean…

    Posted by pieterk515 | January 8, 2014, 11:28 am

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

