>>
you're reading...
Shop talk (anything and everything on writing)

When you can’t think of anything to say

Gosh it’s nice to be back. I’ve spent the last week or so loafing about doing housework, filing paperwork and other pointless chores while my technical consultant, aka my husband, has been building me a new computer.  There had originally been hopes of a seamless changeover between the two machines, but my old computer had other ideas. It was getting cratchety, and forgetful, and if I used it for too long it would pick a letter and run with it for page after page after page after pageeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. Oops.

But then of course, you don’t get a new computer and away you go. You have to find everything on your old one that you want to keep and move it over, and it’s all very tedious and time-consuming and when you think about your blog quietly languishing away, there’s a very strong urge to leave it for another day before you post anything, and the days go by and you can’t really think of anything to write about anyway, so what’s the point?

I didn’t really mean to write anything when I logged in today. I didn’t expect that anyone would have read anything I’d written in the dim and distant past that was the week before last. But then I discovered I had a comment on one of my posts (thanks, Mike) and by the time I’d replied to him, I just wanted to keep writing.

It would be so easy to stop posting altogether, because thinking about what to write can be rather daunting at times. But I think it’s important to realise that not every post on a blog is deep and meaningful and full of sparkling wit (just the one would be nice, actually). A blog, I think, is a conversation, and sometimes we just need to check in and um and er for a bit before we realise what we want to say.

So here it is. Nothing much. But I’m still going.

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

13 thoughts on “When you can’t think of anything to say

  1. I liked your quote. I just wrote a similiar post about my imaginary friends not talking to me. I can also know what you mean about taking a break from blogging. The longer I go, the more detached I get, and have actually considered stopping altogether, Then I check back one day and notice that people have commented and I reply and before I know I’m hooked again. Good luck with new computer. The process sounds awful.

    Posted by librarylady | February 4, 2014, 4:30 pm
    • thanks! I’ll move all the stuff over eventually. the old computer is in the spare bedroonm and every time I realise I’ve forgotten something I have to gallop upstairs to retrieve it. very old tech.

      Posted by elainecanham | February 4, 2014, 8:20 pm
  2. Thoroughly enjoyed reading this; how things have moved on from the electric type-writer, filing cabinets, and a cuttings book. And yes, I often find a positive comment, or even a ‘like’ on one of my posts, is just the incentive I need to resume my writing.

    Posted by echoesofthepen | January 30, 2014, 7:12 pm
  3. How come you can make “nothing” so interesting? !

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | January 30, 2014, 6:57 pm
  4. I just want to say how impressed I am by the work of your technical department. In our household, I am the technical department, and I can assure you that anything of this kind would have to re ‘outsourced’ to a more reliable pair of hands than mine.

    Posted by Peter Wells aka Countingducks | January 30, 2014, 4:09 pm
    • I’ll have to get my technical dept to contact your technical department. He’s very good at fixing stuff, being an ex BBC chap – he’s just crap at remembering where he put it.

      Posted by elainecanham | January 30, 2014, 4:32 pm
    • And, of course, having just been sniffy about my husband’s inability to find anything, I now can’t find my camera. Doh!

      Posted by elainecanham | January 30, 2014, 4:55 pm
  5. I saved all my stuff online so when my boyfriend built my new computer I could just download it. It still needs organising. Badly.

    Posted by caroljforrester | January 30, 2014, 3:19 pm
    • ohhh, I am writing to you now from a small nest in my office made out of piles of christmas card (I need to make a new list) bags of clothes that I have sorted to go the charity shop and sundry important bits of paper. what I really need is a match.

      Posted by elainecanham | January 30, 2014, 4:30 pm
    • Christmas cards? Are you writing replies.
      Well at least you have an office space, currently residing in student digs I have a bedroom that doubles up as study/library/dinning room/liqueur cabinet.
      Even if most of my Southern Comfort went on honey and hot water last week. (Boyfriend had a cold.)

      Posted by caroljforrester | January 30, 2014, 4:38 pm
    • liqueur cabinet – what a brilliant idea. I’m off for a bottle of SC right now.

      Posted by elainecanham | January 30, 2014, 4:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

