>>
you're reading...
humour

Smashing my auntie to a jelly

Remember my mother? (94, excellent mechanic, plays Scrabble,  makes pie).  ­She bought an iPad shortly after Christmas. Not because she’s into tekkie stuff, but because Auntie Barbara has one. Auntie Barbara (who makes the best mince and tatties ever) is a mere a child of 84 and is constantly using her tablet to converse with her daughter-in-law in Inverness, and challenging all comers to Word On, which I suppose is a bitly version of Scrabble.

However, both she and my mother are now addicted to Candy Crush, and their weekly Saturday catch-ups, instead of being devoted to the latest Magiwool knitting patterns for evening wear, are now delicate fencing matches of who is on what level. And how long it took them to get there.

On Sunday mum came to lunch. She came in, gave me the pudding she’d made (delicious, natch) engaged her grandson in some query about missing jpegs, and then sat down and played Candy Crush constantly until dinner was ready. Her grandchildren were equally absorbed in their phones. It was eerily quiet. No conversation about how tidy their bedrooms were; nothing.

It was not until Tuesday that I realised what was going on. Tuesdays, you see, are when I go round and play Scrabble with her. This Tuesday, I played Scrabble, she played Candy Crush (and Scrabble). It was like being with a self-absorbed teenager. Somewhat exasperated, I at last said to her, ‘So what level are you on?’

‘20,’   she replied.

‘And what level is Auntie Barbara on?’ I asked.

‘27,’ she said (rather muffled, as she was concentrating on her moves) ‘But she can’t get off it. She’s having a bit of difficulty.’

She looked up and I could see the gleam in her eye. It was obvious what she was thinking: Within a week, I’ll be ahead of Barbara, and where will her mince and tatties get her then?

So there you have it. When you get to 94, there is still good food, new stuff to learn, and, oh yes, obsessive family rivalry.

Must stop, have got to smash my jellies.

 

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Smashing my auntie to a jelly

  1. And I have it on good Authority that dear sweet 94year-old Mum has beaten her (MA Hons) daughter at scrabble. Among many other victims! So now Auntie Barbara enters stage left swinging whatever they swing in Candy Crush. . . Candy Crush? You’re making that up,right?

    Posted by penjedi | March 13, 2014, 8:17 am
    • No. I’m not making it up. Ring up mum and ask her what level she’s on. And while we’re here: its not an MA its a BA, and actually I thrashed her this week, mostly because she had her mind set on CC. x

      Posted by elainecanham | March 13, 2014, 10:24 am
  2. Blimey, there’s nothing like retaining a bit of a competitive edge in retirement is there.
    xxx Hugs Galore xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | March 13, 2014, 12:10 am
  3. Technology is scary. I know my kids got me going on some kind of game that’s on my phone, and I was semi hooked for awhile until I realized what was going on. I’d start playing and get all tense and snap at people who tried to talk to me – I had to move on. I’ve never played candy crush. I think I won’t.

    Posted by librarylady | March 12, 2014, 7:02 pm
  4. Ahh that is awesome and funny. Don’t forget adroable and cute!

    Posted by emeraldmunchkin | March 12, 2014, 6:32 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

