>>
you're reading...
humour

Our tree climbing dog

Tilly4

Our dog Tilly may look like a Jack Russell Terrier, but she thinks she’s a cat. She walks like a cat, she preens like a cat and, oh, yes, she climbs trees. This is her, 15 feet up an apple tree in our back garden.

She went up after a ball, or possibly a bird, and then stopped. She knew, and we knew, she was in trouble, but being a cat/dog she wasn’t going to admit it. She simply pretended to admire the view while we earthbound humans descended into chaos.

Tilly3

‘Oh my god, mum, she could die! She could like, fall on the ground and get totally squished.’ (daughter)

‘If she stays up there tonight, will we have to put her bed up there? (youngest son)

‘WTF? I was asleep, you know…It’s not even lunchtime.’(eldest son)

‘Get the step ladders!’ Get a sausage! Tilly! Come down now!’ (me)

Tilly2

But she was deaf to all our pleas. Eldest son, who’s over 6ft tall, balanced precariously on top of some step ladders and tried to get hold of her. But cat-like, she just looked at him with disdain, stepped out of his hands and climbed higher.

Tilly5

And then as we stood on the lawn, helplessly wheedling and brandishing bits of sausage, she balanced her haunches and leapt into the blue.

I have to say, I put my hands over my face. When I looked I expected to see a cartoon dead dog. But no, there she was trotting cockily off up the garden, pretending that nothing had happened. As we stared in silence, she leapt lightly on to the garden bench and and then arranged herself regally, waiting to grant us an audience and get some sausage. Because that’s what catdogs do, isn’t it?

tilly1

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

21 thoughts on “Our tree climbing dog

  1. We’ve got to stop meeting like this — you’re costing me too much time.

    Dumb dog …

    Posted by Argus | July 4, 2014, 9:36 am
  2. That last photo says it all.
    “I’m in deep shit, but I sure as hell are not going to let them see my anxiety. I’ll fake my way through this one…Mmm sausages. Lets jump.”

    Posted by pieterk515 | May 19, 2014, 6:48 am
    • I think that was about the size of it. Although, being a cat dog, we had to make her an offering of sausages, while she sat on the bench and pretended nothing had happened.

      Posted by elainecanham | May 19, 2014, 10:01 am
  3. Well, they know who is bad and who is not. If a dog doesn’t like a person, means the person is not good for you or the family. I have a dog, too. 🙂

    Posted by Sparkonit | May 14, 2014, 4:58 pm
  4. Great dog. You did the right thing by introducing her to the world. 🙂

    Posted by Sparkonit | May 12, 2014, 3:05 pm
    • I’m not sure that many postmen or other dog owners would agree with you. She’s all lovely and liquid eyes at home, and a screaming fury to anyone she doesn’t like the look of.

      Posted by elainecanham | May 12, 2014, 3:24 pm
  5. What a great story! She’s awesome! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    Posted by Deborah | May 11, 2014, 2:08 am
  6. Oh please don’t create a new breed Elaine. It’s bad enough having cats treat us with disdain and/or contempt.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | May 9, 2014, 4:02 pm
    • Too late, she’s already had seven puppies. shall I post about them? They were utterly cute. The one in the specs that I pictured last week was one of them.

      Posted by elainecanham | May 9, 2014, 4:51 pm
  7. Tilly is amazing! Thank you for sharing this! 🙂

    Posted by Karen | May 9, 2014, 1:47 pm
  8. So funny! Down south in the US, we have dogs called tree walkers. Maybe she’s got some tree walker in her.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | May 9, 2014, 12:37 pm
  9. You might want to change her name to Puss N’ Boots 😉

    Posted by lbwoodgate | May 9, 2014, 12:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

