>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

On the double, Harry

Matt Hicks, left and the real Harry, right.

Matt Hicks, left and the real Harry, right.

There’s a new reality programme on Fox TV in America called I Wanna Marry Harry which is causing a bit of a stir. It involves flying 12 women to a castle in England where a Prince Harry lookalike fools them into thinking that he really is the Ginger One.

The doppelganger, a cash-strapped student called Mathew Hicks, has had to learn all about living the high life, and he has to lead all these women on, until finally he chooses the one he likes the best (for what, exactly?).

The Washington Post have branded the show as tasteless and a cruel prank, but I’m a bit confused. Have these women been drugged? Do they not know they are on a TV programme? Do they really think Prince Harry would agree to appear on a silly game show where 12 young attractive women compete for his attentions?

…Well, ok, maybe the Post have a point.

But I do rather feel sorry for young Matthew. These girls are all rather steely eyed, and the Post itself admits that they ‘come across as so unlikable that’s it’s impossible to have any sympathy for them’. I wouldn’t want to be in his shoes when he tells the girl who thinks she’s snagged the fourth in line to the throne that actually, he’s a single bloke from Exeter who makes his money by impersonating royalty. He is quoted as saying: “I have to convince them I’m Prince Harry, but the goal is for them to like me for who I am.” Yeah, right.

But still, let’s not throw the whole idea away. I Wanna Marry Harry is a really snappy title. And I’ve got a great idea for a spin-off series. How about Let’s go shootin with Putin? Twelve personable young women from the Ukraine, armed with AK-47s, are sent to the Kremlin. No? (No, ed) Or, what about, Have a twerkel with Merkel ? Anybody got Fox’s phone number?

Pictures courtesy of Vanity Fair, via Creative Commons.org

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

10 thoughts on “On the double, Harry

  1. Judging by some of the results I suggest a politically based satire called ‘Get a hammerin’ with Cameron’.

    Posted by Jools | May 23, 2014, 4:33 pm
  2. The intellectual world of reality shows!

    Posted by Nida S. | May 22, 2014, 1:03 am
  3. I don’t always find myself agreeing with I read in the Washington Post these days but regarding their comments on this FOX farce being a “tasteless and a cruel prank,” they are spot on.

    Posted by lbwoodgate | May 21, 2014, 9:30 pm
  4. In a wheelchair with the heir?

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | May 21, 2014, 6:39 pm
  5. Haha! Love it!

    Loretta Livingstone

    >

    Posted by Loretta Livingstone | May 21, 2014, 5:59 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

