>>
you're reading...
My words (a random display of my own creative writing)

Final score

 

scrabble pic

Edie liked to play Scrabble with her friend Bunny. Edie was 93 and Bunny was 97. Every Tuesday they got together, drank tea, ate cake, gossiped and played Scrabble. Bunny always won. She knew all the two-letter words off by heart; words such as jo and xu and za. Edie would have liked to have won, just once. But she knew that was never going to happen. Then Bunny died, quite suddenly, in the early hours of a Monday morning. Bunny’s daughter Fran came to break the news.

‘Shall we play Scrabble?’ said Edie. She didn’t know what else to do. She got out the cake she had made for Bunny, and poured the tea.  They sat down and Edie began to win.  She put a seven-letter word down. She scored 108 with a crafty placement of a j and a z on a triple word score.  She thought of how Bunny would react at the news. Then she put her rack of letters on the table. ‘I’m fed up with this,’ she said.

 

 

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Final score

  1. Nice. Sort of a short fiction haiku?

    Posted by penjedi | May 28, 2014, 11:32 pm
  2. I’ve sat here for half an hour, damn it, trying to think up something amusing to say. Also had to use the dictionary. That was a really good story. How exasperating for Edie!

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | May 28, 2014, 4:12 pm
    • Thanks, Bruce. I didn’t know whether to go on for another par. But then I thought, no I finished, so I’ll finish. Anyway I’m not playing you and David at Scrabble now – you know all the good words!

      Posted by elainecanham | May 28, 2014, 6:31 pm
  3. Thanks so much for the two extra words- I’m playing tonight !
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | May 28, 2014, 3:32 pm
  4. Poor Edie…I love scrabble and I lose a lot at it….Next time I lose Edie is surely coming to mind…

    Posted by Nida S. | May 28, 2014, 3:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

