>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

Florence and the zeppelin

florence3

Florence Parrott was the first person I ever interviewed as a junior reporter. I was 18, the same age as she was when she joined the Royal Flying Corps in 1918.

I had been a reporter for about two weeks when I was sent to talk to Florence, who was then 79, and partially deaf (you’ll have to speak up, DEAR!). She was tall, rangy, ready to laugh, with great booming ho, ho ho’s, and she told her story with a sort of matter of fact understatement that I, as a teenager, just nodded at and wrote down, and now as a mother and grandmother, think of with rather greater imagination.

In 1917, the teenage Florence Maple was a wine waitress at London’s Liverpool Street Hotel, and part of her job was to go next door to the railway station to give lunch boxes to troops departing for the front.

She said: ‘The train and platform were packed with people that day. We heard a whistle and thought it was the train moving off. But we looked up and there was a zeppelin, dropping bombs. I don’t think there was much of the train left.’

In the midst of all this carnage, Florence, who was hit in the arm, shook her fist at the zeppelin, swore at the Kaiser and then was taken to St Barts Hospital. When she was discharged, she went straight to the Connaught Club and joined up. ‘I said to them, if I’m going to get knocked about, I’ll damn well go where I expect it.’

She was one of the first women allowed to join the women’s section of the Royal Flying Corps, which became the Women’s Royal Airforce in April 1918. She went to France with the first boatload of such women and was stationed in Cressy, near Vron in northern France. It was her job to pick up stores from Etaples (‘Funny names the French have. We pronounced it Eat Apples’) which had become a vast military camp and giant hospital and then deliver them to local depots. According to FirstWorldWar.com the hospitals were targeted several times by incendiary bombers, and many of the orderlies present risked their lives getting the wounded men to safety. Florence just said: ‘We had to run for our lives a couple of times, dear, and I’ve known days when there was nothing to eat but a piece of hardtack. Of course, you couldn’t drink the water.

‘I remember the morning that the news of peace came through –we got every vehicle that had a wheel, including wheelbarrows, and we put the men who couldn’t walk in those and we went round and round the green patch in the middle of the camp. The PoWs came and the people from the village. We just couldn’t stop laughing and singing.’

Florence eventually made it back to England, with the last boatload of women who had served in the corps, in 1919. She married and settled down in Buckinghamshire, where she spent the rest of her life. To my shame I have no idea when she died, and I regret that I never asked her the questions that I’d like to ask her today; about how she felt and how her experiences affected her. Although I doubt, even if I could ask her, that she’d want to answer those kind of questions. All I have is a faded cutting and an enduring memory of one of the strongest women I ever met.

florence2

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

19 thoughts on “Florence and the zeppelin

  1. So good to catch up with your blog. Busy of late, too much so, and yet reading your writing is a tonic.

    Posted by MikeW | June 3, 2014, 5:51 am
    • Thanks Mike, it’s nice to see you back. I have to admit, if I don’t see you for a while I begin to wonder if you’ve fallen down a mountain!

      Posted by elainecanham | June 3, 2014, 7:06 am
  2. What a fiesty incredible woman. I think we would all have been a little afraid to ask some prying questions of such a strong lady.

    Posted by mudpilewood | May 31, 2014, 3:55 pm
    • Oh I don’t know, if you have a feisty incredible news editor to face when you go back to the office, you will ask anybody anything. 🙂

      Posted by elainecanham | May 31, 2014, 4:09 pm
  3. Please tell the story of the ‘tortoise man’, I would like to read that. Over here from ‘First Night History’, commented on this post there.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Posted by beetleypete | May 31, 2014, 1:44 pm
    • Thanks for reblogging it. That’s really nice of you. I’ll go through my cuttings for that lovely old man. They’re turning out to be a rich source of posts.

      Posted by elainecanham | May 31, 2014, 2:32 pm
    • It was Sarah who re-blogged it, I can’t take the credit for that. My name comes from the village where I live, Beetley, in Norfolk. Plus Pete of course!
      Best wishes. Pete.

      Posted by beetleypete | May 31, 2014, 4:45 pm
    • I love your name by the way, where did you get that from?

      Posted by elainecanham | May 31, 2014, 2:38 pm
  4. Very interesting capturing of a part of history. We forget that history is made up of ordinary people and not simply grand leaders. And I see from the newspaper clipping that I’ll have to stop saying “Great Scott!”

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | May 30, 2014, 7:19 pm
    • Long time since I went by that name, Bruce. I had another cutting too, of an interview I did with chap, just a little old man who looked like a tortoise, who won the legion d’honneur for going out into no man’s land and saving a wounded Frenchman. I should have put them together, but Florence deserved the spotlight today.

      Posted by elainecanham | May 30, 2014, 7:24 pm
  5. Working as a hospital orderly and dodging incendiary bombs meant she likely saw as much of the ugly side of war as those on the front did. Neat woman and a great story

    Posted by lbwoodgate | May 30, 2014, 5:29 pm
  6. She was some gal.

    Posted by Jools | May 30, 2014, 5:14 pm
  7. Reblogged this on ronovanwrites and commented:
    Amazing story. Must read!

    Posted by Ronovan | May 30, 2014, 3:27 pm
  8. Bless her. Great lady. Have to re-blog it on First Night History.

    Posted by First Night Design | May 30, 2014, 3:10 pm
  9. A fascinating first interview Elaine, it’s easy to be wise after the even as to what more you could have asked but the editor obviously thought you’d done a good job since the piece appeared.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | May 30, 2014, 1:36 pm
    • Thanks, David, but if I’d been subbing that piece the reporter would have been sent back with a few more questions! xx

      Posted by elainecanham | May 30, 2014, 1:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

