>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

Nervous? Why should I feel nervous?

rose&titchmarsh

I’m all of a doo dah. And I don’t know why; it’s got nothing to do with me, really. My daughter Rose is going to a big swanky do tonight, because she’s been nominated by Company Magazine as Britain’s best teen fashion blogger. (Drinks all round, ed).

Trouble is, she has absolutely insisted on going on her own and the do is in London’s East End. (It’s mostly gentrified now, but still very dodgy in places. Especially if you are a lone teenage girl.)

‘Take a friend with you,’ I said. ‘You’ll have more fun. It’ll be a real laugh.’ (And you’ll be much, much safer).

No. She wanted to be the cat that walks by herself. Ever tried arguing with a 17-year-old girl? Well, then, you see my point.

While I’m not that fussed about her going to London for a spot of shopping, during the day, or to stay with her big brother, I did start hyperventilating at the thought of her catching the last train home from Euston (or worse, missing it) in a sequinned mini dress and platform shoes.

Eventually, we came to a compromise. I would accompany her to the do and then disappear, amuse myself for three or four hours, and then reappear at the venue to take her home, and fight off any muggers/pickpockets/sex maniac psychopaths with one flick of my capacious handbag.

So, natch, I’ve asked a mate to come along as well, because it’s not often she and I get a night out in London. We’ll go for a good meal, drink, and then pick up (hopefully trophy-bearing daughter) well on time for the vomit express home.

Daughter is now hoping I’m not going to turn up and be embarrassing. (This term covers everything from how I talk to people, whether I hum, sing or whistle, tell a joke, or fart unexpectedly).

Little does she know that I am planning to scale a drainpipe, climb through a window and crouch at the back of the room, so that I can see her (hopefully) pick up the award.

But you won’t tell, will you?

The picture is of Rose appearing on the Alan Titchmarsh show two years ago after being named B&Q’s Young DIY enthusiast of the year.

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

23 thoughts on “Nervous? Why should I feel nervous?

  1. It’s amazing how some genes skip a generation!

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | June 18, 2014, 8:51 pm
  2. It’s an honor just to be nominated. (But let’s see that trophy girl!!!) have fun, and way to have an awesome daughter!

    Posted by naptimethoughts | June 18, 2014, 8:34 pm
  3. Good and funny….my wishes to the young lady

    Posted by Love, Life & Whatever | June 18, 2014, 5:40 pm
  4. Haha. I hope you each have a wonderful time, and that you manage to resist your urge to gatecrash. However, if you do intend to scale any drainpipes, remember to wear suitable attire, so as to cause minimum embarrassment for Rose when she has to collect you from the police station.

    Loretta Livingstone

    >

    Posted by Loretta Livingstone | June 18, 2014, 5:17 pm
  5. I understand the nervousness of letting her wander alone on her own at that hour, but I’m sure you are really proud of her, and you have every right to be. What a fantastic achievement

    Posted by Peter Wells aka Countingducks | June 18, 2014, 5:13 pm
  6. It’s very difficult NOT to be an embarrassing parent since there don’t seem to be any fixed rules for the game. I wish your daughter every success and you a great night out.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | June 18, 2014, 4:35 pm
  7. Congratulations! Fingers crossed!

    Posted by olganm | June 18, 2014, 4:27 pm
  8. Good luck Rose! Sounds like a perfectly good plan to me but I think if you blog about it she might find out! 😉

    Posted by Fiona Kay | June 18, 2014, 2:51 pm
  9. Not only is she talented, she’s beautiful as well! And I’d be the same as you. Last train from Euston??!!!

    Posted by helen meikle's scribblefest | June 18, 2014, 2:34 pm
  10. How fabulous! Rose is a winner even if she doesn’t take the trophy home. Have fun scaling!

    Posted by First Night Design | June 18, 2014, 2:25 pm
  11. Congrats proud parent. But I have been watching episodes of Luther and you have every right to be cautious. 😉

    Posted by lbwoodgate | June 18, 2014, 1:44 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

