>>
you're reading...
My words (a random display of my own creative writing)

The wrong man

door-to-door

Edward King was 92 when he moved into a care home. He hadn’t wanted to leave his house. ‘I’m perfectly all right,’ he told his daughter.

Edward, a retired builder, had lived alone, ever since his wife Doris had run off 20 years before with an encyclopaedia salesman.

Shortly after Edward’s daughter sold the house, the new owners found the body of a man behind a false wall. Detectives naturally thought it was the encyclopaedia salesman and went to see Edward, but he kept telling them, ‘Stop harassing me. You’ve got the wrong man.’

Detectives soon found out, indeed, that the dead body had never been an encyclopaedia salesman. ‘Told you you had the wrong man,’ said Edward. ‘I put Doris’s lover under the patio.’

encyclopaedia

 

pictures courtesy of http://www.dailyfinance.com/ and http://en.wikipedia.org/ via Creative Commons

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

14 thoughts on “The wrong man

  1. Beautiful in its simplicity 🙂

    Posted by Sally | June 28, 2014, 6:38 am
  2. Now that one pulled the rug out from under the feet at the end! Great stuff! 😀

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | June 27, 2014, 8:56 pm
    • Thanks Bruce. I was in a bit of a hurry when I wrote it. It could be a bit more polished. But never mind. Onwards and upwards, and I do think of my blog as a kind of notebook for future reference.

      Posted by elainecanham | June 27, 2014, 9:34 pm
  3. *gglsnrt*

    Posted by Nan Sampson | June 27, 2014, 8:29 pm
  4. Excellent!

    Posted by Karen | June 27, 2014, 5:00 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

