>>
you're reading...
Shop talk (anything and everything on writing)

100 posts! Ain’t that dandy?

dandelion

This is my 100th blog post. Can you believe it? (No, ed) I find the fact that I’ve kept on writing, reasonably regularly since last September, utterly amazing. Me. Who would rather do the ironing than face the prospect of sitting down at a blank screen and thinking up something to write about.

One hundred posts. That’s (quick pause while I consult calculator) about 40,000 words. Wtf! That’s nearly a novel! And that’s not counting the (sometimes lengthy) conversations I’ve struck up with all the interesting people I’ve met here in the blogosphere.

It’s been interesting, and exciting and, at times, it has to be said, rather discouraging. Nobody read my first two posts. Which was not surprising because they were rather dull and worthy efforts on how to write an essay. I had just finished my OU degree, and they were really instructions to myself in case I forgot how to treat an academic subject (dunno why; can’t see anybody suddenly wanting me to knock out 3,000 words on Shakespeare).

In September I posted every day, and when I got 12 likes for Wtf? Guys, listen to yourselves. I thought I was really motoring. In October I missed a couple of days, but my readers slowly climbed. And then I wrote a piece about my mother playing Scrabble, Out of the mouths of Babes and Grandmas and was astonished when one of my students told me she’d read it out loud to her daughter. In a café. In London. Call me naïve, but I hadn’t really pictured anyone reading my stuff. Certainly not anybody I knew. I mean, like buttons and real people aren’t the same at all, are they? (You are naïve, ed).

Things dropped off a bit after that, and my posting became rather haphazard, and I felt I wasn’t getting anywhere (not that I knew where I wanted to get to). I had started blogging with the intention, as a professional writer, of handing out advice to aspiring writers (whether they wanted it or not). And I couldn’t understand why nobody was coming by. And then I read a piece by Opinionated Man on blogging, who said that bloggers are all, if you like, a field of dandelions.

field of buttercups (couldn't find one with dandelions)

 

Nobody wants advice from people who think they are roses. They want to know how other dandelions are doing. And he was dead right. In any case, my stuff couldn’t really be compared to a rose. More like the stuff you mulch them with.

So I stopped and I wouldn’t have come back, if it hadn’t been for Bruce Goodman sending me a lovely email asking when I was going to post again (thanks Bruce!). And, when I did sign in, I found a really nice message from another fellow blogger, MikeW. So, that was how I discovered this place is a community. An odd one, since the chances are we’ll never meet in person; but, looking at it another way, it has the advantage of allowing you to talk to people you never would otherwise meet.

Then my daughter took me in hand. She showed me how to take advantage of Twitter; how to tag my tweets and told me also to tag my posts on Facebook. She also told me off about the dullness of my stock pictures, and that I should take my own at all times. I signed up for the WordPress 201 tuition, and everything kind of clicked. I realised I couldn’t bang on about writing all the time.  I wanted to write about family life and everyday stuff that was on my mind. And more people began to drop in.

And I don’t feel discouraged any more. I don’t have thousands of followers on WordPress, or more than 30 likes for any of my posts, but I do have a few close posting buddies who always drop by; there are others who pop in occasionally, and there are always new people popping into my reader, with new ideas and fascinating lives.

The most important thing is that, without a blog I wouldn’t write at all. And while I don’t like the thought of writing, I do like doing it.

So, thanks, WordPress, and here’s to the next 100 posts.

 

 

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

30 thoughts on “100 posts! Ain’t that dandy?

  1. Congratulations on your milestone! 100 posts is a big deal. 🙂

    Posted by diahannreyes | July 1, 2014, 2:04 am
  2. Congratulations. Love your posts. (Don’t think I’ve ever had 30 likes!) Don’t stop dropping the odd rose petal, though. I checked back yesterday to your post linking to thescreenwritingprocess.com – as you said, a New Life! So huge thanks for that, as well as all the dandelion posts.

    Posted by helen meikle's scribblefest | June 30, 2014, 2:17 pm
    • Thank you, Helen, that’s lovely of you. I haven’t had 30 likes either. In fact, this post has got the most ever. (So far!) Glad you like the posts. Nice to think of some of them as rose petals.

      Posted by elainecanham | June 30, 2014, 3:03 pm
  3. Congratulations on 100 posts! I love every single one of them. Don’t worry about the first posts– mine sucked too. In fact, when I went back after my three hundredth follower, I gave them a little makeover. Just to make me feel better! Here’s to another 100 posts. I’ll read them all. 🙂

    Posted by naptimethoughts | June 30, 2014, 10:42 am
  4. Wow, and what a coincidence, given that my latest post was also my 100th! Congratulations and all that – you have a great blog and I always love reading what you come up with. But you make a good point when you say. ‘Nobody wants advice from people who think they are roses. They want to know how other dandelions are doing.’ I’ve found exactly the same myself. I think, particularly as writers, we need to know we’re not the only ones with doubts, neuroses, personal/edit crises, word-blindness and so on. Looking forward to enjoying your next 100 posts!

    Posted by Jools | June 30, 2014, 10:03 am
    • Thanks Jools! And congratulations to you too. I have to admit, as a reader I like to identify with people who are having the same problems as me.

      Posted by elainecanham | June 30, 2014, 10:35 am
    • Thank you too. Would that we were all abundantly successful, infinitely self-confident and totally free of writerly psychoses. Nirvana indeed!

      Posted by Jools | June 30, 2014, 10:51 am
    • Yes, but nobody would read our posts!

      Posted by elainecanham | June 30, 2014, 10:52 am
  5. Congrats on reaching your first 100! 🙂 x

    Posted by Sally | June 30, 2014, 7:28 am
  6. Congratulations! That’s a fantastic milestone, definitely worthy of celebrating. I’m making cranberry scones this sunny (and ridiculously hot and humid) Sunday afternoon. I’ll send you a couple (virtually) to go with your tea. Or maybe this is a truffles and champagne kind of moment? However you celebrate, here’s to hoping there’s a lot more to come! Though I’m a newcomer to it, I really enjoy your blog. Don’t ever stop!

    Posted by Nan Sampson | June 29, 2014, 8:41 pm
    • Thanks, Nan. I really enjoy your comments, come to that. And I’d probably really enjoy your scones too, but I shall just imagine them! Wish it was hot here. We lit a fire last night, it was so miserable. Still, it has to rain, because it’s Glastonbury weekend. The sun should come out tomorrow…..

      Posted by elainecanham | June 29, 2014, 8:47 pm
    • You want me to sing, don’t you? 🙂 “The sun’ll come out tomorrow, bet your bottom dollar that tomorrow…” Sorry! Glastonbury sounds awesome – wish I could go, rain or no. I’d frankly trade the rain for the 90 degrees (32 c?) and 85% humidity here in lovely Chicago. I feel like a wet dishrag. Enjoy!

      Posted by Nan Sampson | June 29, 2014, 9:10 pm
    • Chicago, Chicago, that toddling town! Toddling? 14 C here (57F) 74% humidity. Steve went to Glastonbury when it started, free to get in and Michael Eavis brought milk round in the morning. It’s not like that any more, but I’d quite like to go.

      Posted by elainecanham | June 29, 2014, 9:30 pm
  7. Congratulations! (And thanks for the mention! – I didn’t know I had that effect on people!) I think I have followed your blog from almost the beginning, and there hasn’t been a globule of dribble that I didn’t think was gold!! You can’t but help write good. I shall purposely pour a second this evening in celebration! (or is that a third?) Well done!

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | June 29, 2014, 8:32 pm
  8. Well done you. I visit you Blog regularly so I know how good they are. Keep going and here’s to 200

    Posted by Peter Wells aka Countingducks | June 29, 2014, 6:34 pm
  9. Congratulations on reaching post 100! Glad you decided to stick with blogging–I’ve been enjoying your posts very much.

    Posted by David Pandolfe | June 29, 2014, 5:37 pm
  10. Congratulations glasshopper.This weekends blog was actually my 200th you Novice you. If it wasn’t for pity I wouldn’t have any likes, visitors or comments but thankfully I’m able to exploit the fish to the full and my ineptitude with the female race. How 6 of you generate so many comments between you amazes me.
    I think it’s natural that our blogs undergo many changes as we adjust to styles we like and try to avoid appealing to those readers we don’t.
    It’s always been a pleasure to read your blog and inevitably you raise a smile. Don’t give up please.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | June 29, 2014, 3:30 pm
  11. Congrats on a lovely post and your milestone. I hope you have many more.

    Posted by Jane Risdon | June 29, 2014, 2:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

