>>
you're reading...
My words (a random display of my own creative writing)

Summer lightning

lightning

Woke up this morning at half past three with a bloody great crash bang! I thought the house was falling down, or the Royal Philharmonic had crept into the attic to play the 1812 overture. But no. It was just the mother and father of all thunderstorms.

And then I thought, hell’s teeth, the washing. The line out in the garden was loaded with it. All dry. (Which is important when you are a dilettante washerwoman).

I thought about leaving it. And then I thought about all the other washing waiting to go out…So two minutes later there I was, in my jammies, lightning cracking over the greenhouse, feverishly tearing the pegs off the line and throwing clothes in a basket while raindrops as fat as grapes burst on my head and shoulders.

Then there was another enormous kettle drum of thunder and, almost instantly, the sky split with a horizontal flash as if it were taking a picture of the garden.

The pattering on the leaves stilled for a moment, and then the rain roared down. I picked up my basket and fled.

Back upstairs, job done, I dried myself off, went back to bed with a cup of tea, consoled two uncertain dogs and watched the lightning arc across our neighbour’s field. I felt very, very smug.

Until I had to get up four hours later.

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

12 thoughts on “Summer lightning

  1. I live in new jersey, and had to huddle with my children in the center hall of my house last week for fear of a tornado. That shit ain’t right.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | July 19, 2014, 3:08 am
  2. Holy Toledo! Glad you things inside before the deluge. The Lord Admiral Nelson despises thunderstorms, but my old dog, Indy loved them. We’d sit on the deck under an umbrella and listen to the thunder roll in. Glad you’re safe and sound!

    Posted by Nan Sampson | July 18, 2014, 11:02 pm
  3. “The Dilettante Washerwoman” by Sir Pelham Humphreys:

    The lightning flashed, the thunder roared,
    It was a dark and stormy night;
    Elaine thought she had on her pyjamas,
    Till the neighbour looked out and got a fright.

    Having said all this nonsense, it is a lovely observed and written piece… The pattering on the leaves stilled for a moment…

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | July 18, 2014, 7:04 pm
  4. Mike is here telling me all about the storm and how the light lit up his room. You can guarantee that he wasn’t out collecting the washing from the line though. He’d have been putting his Wee Willie Winkie nightcap back on and going back to sleep.
    xxx Mega Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | July 18, 2014, 6:38 pm
  5. We have heard about this storm from relatives in Hertfordshire, and seen the damage on TV. It is due to hit Norfolk about 1am, so we are battening down the metaphorical hatches. I hope your dog wasn’t scared!
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Posted by beetleypete | July 18, 2014, 6:22 pm
    • We’re getting it again tonight – I’m really looking forward to it. I love thunderstorms. Washing will be in, and alarm will be off. The dogs were fine, really, they just saw it as a good excuse to get on the bed. Hope it doesn’t do any damage your end.

      Posted by elainecanham | July 18, 2014, 6:28 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

