>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

Slice of life

choc_rose_cake

I’ve had a lot of trouble with language lately. I told my exercise teacher (well, Sue in the village) that I’d just eaten a jeely piece and she had no idea what I was on about. (She’s Welsh, I’m Scots, and a jp is a jam sandwich).

Fellow blogger Barry wrote a post containing the word schnook. Apparently it means ‘nerd’, and is not the same as ‘schmuck’ which I had no idea (honest, guv) meant penis.

Another fellow blogger, Naptime Thoughts, (from New Jersey) thought I was having her on when I said I thought a Twinkie was a chocolate bar (that’s twinkie, not winkie). And whaddya know, it’s a cake. More on that later, as we are now set to engage in a programme of exchanging fondant fancies in order to further our cultural bonds. Amazing what posting on WordPress can lead to.

And, with the opening of the Commonwealth Games in Glasgow today, can I just help out any passing visitors with this vital information: ‘whaur’s the cludgie‘ means where’s the loo, and ‘yer bum’s oot the windie‘ means, you’re wrong.

So, in the meantime, while thinking of something really worthwhile to post about, and waiting for cake to fall from the sky, I post this film, which shows, that no matter how bad we humans are at misunderstanding each other, a computer in a lift can beat us every time.

picture from http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chocolate_cake#mediaviewer/File:300x300_choc_rose_cake.jpg via Creative Commons.

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

51 thoughts on “Slice of life

  1. Pretty funny. I didn’t even know that schmuck meant penis either. That is until I read this post.

    Posted by franzered | July 26, 2014, 3:47 am
  2. had no idea schmuck meant penis – thought it meant a jerk or someone who was not wise…
    fun post!!

    Posted by prior | July 25, 2014, 4:34 pm
    • also, have you ever heard that twinkies have the same ingredients as plastic? well when I was growing up there was always talk about how the recipe for twinkles was just shy of a few things to make a certain plastic. and also they recently were shutting down the company that made twinkles and so blokes were selling for a lot of moola- but then someone brought the company and now they are still around – which I am not sure is good thing. But as a joke -w e got my older son a twinkie shirt for Xmas one year – it was when we thought they were no max….
      anyhow, fun post – fun video !

      Posted by prior | July 25, 2014, 4:38 pm
    • same ingredients as plastic? you’re not doing much for my confidence levels in trying one. Still, I shall sacrifice my intestines in the name of greater Culturally Aided Kitchen Exploits. Or, cake.

      Posted by elainecanham | July 25, 2014, 4:45 pm
    • It’s entirely possible that Twinkies have the same ingredients as plastic, and it’s a terrible thing that Hostess is still around, but they were a staple of my childhood, and I’m still here.
      Of late, Americans seem to think that it’s un-American to eat things that are good for you. They think that if we made the company change Twinkies to contain ingredients that would not make plastic, everyone would lose their jobs and armageddon would ensue. I’m not proud of us, but this is what’s going on. America is a weird weird place these days.

      Posted by naptimethoughts | July 25, 2014, 4:53 pm
    • Is eating plastic good for you? Or did you miss a not out?

      Posted by elainecanham | July 25, 2014, 5:07 pm
    • Sure, puts hair on your chest.
      There’s no plastic in Twinkies, but they’re not good for you, anyhow. Try one and see. They’re whizzing your way as we speak.

      Posted by naptimethoughts | July 25, 2014, 7:40 pm
    • Sent the mini rolls off to you yesterday plus a pkt of jaffa cakes. Mentioned what was happening to my kids, and they’re delighted. Son saw Twinkies featured in a zombie movie, apparently, and is really interested to try them. Zombies eating cake. Now there’s a mental picture for you.

      Posted by elainecanham | July 25, 2014, 9:43 pm
    • I was unaware that zombies ate anything but brains, but if I had to pick an alternate food for zombies, it would be twinkles. They’re both undead. And the Jaffa cakes are cheating. I have tasty cakes for you. Or hoho’s.

      Posted by naptimethoughts | July 25, 2014, 10:35 pm
    • Not cheating, really. Just a postal economy.

      Posted by elainecanham | July 25, 2014, 10:40 pm
  3. Hilarious! Not quite that but I’ve had quite a few experiences with voice recognition. It doesn’t do Spanish/English accent either!

    Posted by olganm | July 25, 2014, 8:44 am
    • Oh God. I can see a time when we are all stuck in lifts while computers rule the world – hey that’s a good Dr Who storyline….where’s my pencil….

      Posted by elainecanham | July 25, 2014, 9:25 am
  4. haha brilliant!

    Posted by Nida S. | July 24, 2014, 4:51 am
    • Thanks Nida. I love that film. I now spend my time wandering around the house randomly shouting ‘Eleven’ in a Glasgow accent.

      Posted by elainecanham | July 24, 2014, 9:49 am
  5. Languages are sly that way, just when you think you know a language, it throws some brand new words at you just to keep things interesting. Great post 🙂

    Posted by Sally | July 23, 2014, 11:05 pm
  6. I am very excited about our snack cake foreign exchange program. The beginnings of what may be two posts about snack cakes is already coming together.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | July 23, 2014, 11:03 pm
    • Yes, and we needn’t confine ourselves to cake. There’s biscuits too. I feel the need to spread the word about Jaffa Cakes (which are technically cakes, but kind of biscuits). Frankly I don’t know what Britain would do without biscuits. Soldier on grimly, I suppose.

      Posted by elainecanham | July 24, 2014, 9:46 am
    • I think ‘cross the pond you guys have a whole different idea of biscuits than we do. Here, a biscuit has but one meaning: soft round bread that is baked and then adorned with butter and jam. Best served warm.

      Posted by naptimethoughts | July 24, 2014, 4:01 pm
    • Where as here, biscuits underpin our entire culture. And they have such brilliant names; chocolate hob nobs, Viennese fancies, rich tea, Tunnocks tea cakes, McVities chocolate fingers, fig rolls… Got a problem? Have a nice cup of tea and gypsy cream. Aliens invaded? Offer them a garibaldi biscuit. I wrote a post about it once. Might write another.

      Posted by elainecanham | July 24, 2014, 7:24 pm
    • Yes, those all sound yummy. Next swap biscuits for tasty cakes. Those are exclusive to the northeast.

      Posted by naptimethoughts | July 24, 2014, 8:27 pm
  7. Very funny! Thanks for the laugh. Jeely piece, huh? I would have had no idea either. Over here, we generally only eat jam (or more often jelly) on a sandwich with peanut butter and that’s known as a PB&J.

    Posted by Nan Sampson | July 23, 2014, 6:26 pm
    • Oh, that’s something else I’ve never tried. I like PB and I like J, but I think the both of them would be too much of good thing.

      Posted by elainecanham | July 23, 2014, 6:29 pm
    • It’s a childhood staple here. I’m a traditionalist and only eat Grape Jelly on mine. My husband is a bit of an odd ball and eats his with strawberry jam. I probably bring it once or twice a week to work as well. Cheap, portable and slaps together quick in the morning! Try it sometime. Come on over to the dark side. 🙂

      Posted by Nan Sampson | July 23, 2014, 6:34 pm
    • Hmmm. Grape jelly? Made out of grapes? Who knew? (Well, except for 159m Americans). I’ll try…..gulp

      Posted by elainecanham | July 23, 2014, 6:39 pm
  8. I thought only bread was leavened and not jeely pieces in a lift (aka an elevator)!

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | July 23, 2014, 6:13 pm
    • Do you call them elevators in NZ?

      Posted by elainecanham | July 23, 2014, 6:30 pm
    • No – usually lifts, but I lived in America for long enough for me to call them elevators, and also long enough to have jam and peanut butter on my sandwiches (which I love!)

      Posted by Bruce Goodman | July 24, 2014, 12:33 am
  9. Love it!

    Posted by Jools | July 23, 2014, 5:50 pm
  10. Very funny Elaine. Thank you.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | July 23, 2014, 5:20 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

