>>
you're reading...
My words (a random display of my own creative writing)

Someone to watch over me

central control

Tessa worried about her mother. Eadie was 92 and getting a bit frail. And she lived on her own. True, Eadie lived in a warden-controlled flat, but what good was it if the warden did come round every Tuesday? What would happen if Eadie had an accident on a Wednesday?

‘I’ll be fine,’ said Eadie. ‘Look, there’s a pull cord in every room. If I have an accident I just tug on that, and it alerts Central Control.

‘Central Control?’ echoed Tessa. ‘What, like when they send a rocket to outer space?’

Eadie looked confused. ‘No, it’s a lady called Brenda at the council. I talk to her sometimes when I pull the cord by mistake.’

Tessa felt better. At least the pull cord worked. There was somebody looking out for her mother. But then something else occurred to her, and she said, ‘But what happens if you fall over and you can’t reach the cord? What then?’

‘Tessa, you’re being ridiculous,’ said Eadie. ‘I might be old, but I’m not stupid. I will be fine.’

That night Tessa couldn’t sleep for worrying. Her husband was working a night shift, so she had nobody to confide in. And then the phone rang. Something had to have happened. Why else would the phone ring at 3am? She got up in a hurry to answer it and fell over the dog. She lay for three hours with a broken leg before her husband found her.

 

 

 

 

image courtesy of en.wikipedia.org/wiki/mission_control_center via creative commons

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Someone to watch over me

  1. Very funny! And the end took me by surprise! I hope Eadlin didn’t have a pull cord in the toilet like in the old days. She might pull the wrong rope to flush.

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | July 27, 2014, 8:34 pm
  2. And she never even found out if it was double glazing salesmen.
    xxx Gigantic Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | July 27, 2014, 4:18 pm
  3. Now she can cite an example of what can happen to her mother, as embarrassing as it will be to do so. 🙂

    Posted by lbwoodgate | July 27, 2014, 2:50 pm
  4. Man, Teresa needs to get a smart phone. Very convenient, those.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | July 27, 2014, 2:37 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

