>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

Say, Cheese

baby

What is the worst name for a child that you’ve ever come across? I started thinking about this yesterday after reading LBWoodgate’s post on Alaska governor Sarah Palin. Her daughter is called Bristol. (Bristol???) Still, I suppose it’s better than Stoke Poges.

But get this…a survey of half a million people by parenting website BabyCenter found some parents had named their new baby Cheese.

I take it back…Bristol, your tea’s ready!

picture courtesy of sha3teely.com via Creative Commons

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

67 thoughts on “Say, Cheese

  1. There’s a woman named Cheesette in Connecticut. Even better, there are dozens of people in the U.S. named Velveeta.

    Posted by Nancy | August 16, 2014, 10:19 pm
  2. Cheese? That’s even more amazing than Apple…
    Too funny. I once knew someone named Vista. I asked if it was for “view” and said the parents must have wanted vast horizons for the child. “No,” the person said. “It’s for a Vista Cruiser station wagon…” and the person was serious. Even so, Vista makes a lovely name. 🙂

    Posted by teagan geneviene | August 10, 2014, 2:25 pm
    • I suppose…not certain about it myself. But it wouldn’t make you burst out laughing if you were introduced. Vesta used to be a name in England in Victorian/Edwardian times – there was a music hall star called Vesta Tilley.

      Posted by elainecanham | August 10, 2014, 2:54 pm
  3. Then there are the modern ones calling their children “@” I wonder how that works alphabetically…

    Posted by olganm | August 10, 2014, 9:44 am
    • No. You are having me on, Olga. Facebook’s bad enough, but @ ???

      Posted by elainecanham | August 10, 2014, 10:50 am
    • Is @ like Prince?

      Posted by naptimethoughts | August 10, 2014, 2:19 pm
    • You mean that funny sign he did, that meant the artist formerly known as Prince?
      Did you get the youtube link I sent?

      Posted by elainecanham | August 10, 2014, 2:51 pm
    • I just watched it. Over here, we have the food network, to which I am addicted, and that looks quite a bit like some of the shows we get. I would watch that constantly. My favorite right now is a show called “Cutthroat kitchen”. I’ll send you a you tube.

      Posted by naptimethoughts | August 10, 2014, 5:16 pm
    • My God. Mary Berry would have a heart attack. Mind you, Paul Hollywood would fit right in…

      Posted by elainecanham | August 10, 2014, 5:28 pm
    • It’s awesome. Better than Chopped, which is also wonderful- they get in 4 chefs and give them a basket of ingredients, usually including a couple of truly disgusting items, like twinkies, or canned meat, and make them create a gourmet meal using all the ingredients in their baskets and a stocked kitchen. Starter, entree and dessert. Great show.

      Posted by naptimethoughts | August 10, 2014, 5:46 pm
    • yes, we have that too. Or we used to, haven’t seen it in a while. Only in ours it was 2 chefs and 2people from the audience with a bag of challenging stuff they had chosen themselves. Bit of a cheat really because of all the things they had in their store cupboard to help them.

      Posted by elainecanham | August 10, 2014, 5:50 pm
  4. Reblogged this on theowlladyblog.

    Posted by theowllady | August 9, 2014, 7:19 pm
  5. Oooooooh, I hate them too.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | August 9, 2014, 4:47 pm
  6. Cheese Alady, Cheese Ajollygoodfellow, Cheese Thecatsmother? Sorry. Oh, I forgot. Cheese Nonion.

    Posted by Jools | August 9, 2014, 4:19 pm
  7. Cheese was feeling Blue. (Ahem!)

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | August 9, 2014, 3:25 pm
    • Wah, wah, wahhhhhhhh.

      Posted by naptimethoughts | August 9, 2014, 3:30 pm
    • Oh, dear. But ripe for mischief….Do you think he would like listening to Air on a Cheese String?

      Posted by elainecanham | August 9, 2014, 5:15 pm
    • You’re right. Enough of puns. Perhaps not Air on A Cheese String, but maybe Cheese a Jolly Good Fellow. The worst naming of children was this guy I knew who named his three sons with relatively common names. The marriage broke up. He remarried, had three more sons and gave them identical names to the first three.

      Posted by Bruce Goodman | August 9, 2014, 7:36 pm
    • No. That’s, well, I don’t know what to say. (Bit of a first for me)
      But I went to school with three sisters once called Merry, Gay and Joy. Their dad was a bloke who was always telling people to smile.

      Posted by elainecanham | August 9, 2014, 7:46 pm
  8. I hope all those “Cheese” parents gave their babies a better middle name. Perhaps one they could go by instead of cheese… That is a pants name.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | August 9, 2014, 2:57 pm
  9. Friends of my daughters who work in Child Services say Death is quite popular. And I’ve met a child called Paisley. I ask you!

    Posted by helen meikle's scribblefest | August 9, 2014, 2:55 pm
  10. Parents get their inspiration from all sorts of places. Having recently enjoyed box-set nirvana with all five seasons of The Wire, I recall a Cheese Wagstaff, a player, a proper badass as it were, very much on the wrong side of the Baltimore POlice. It makes one wonder.

    Posted by Jools | August 9, 2014, 2:47 pm
  11. Get outta here! Cheese? Really? The parents will always rue the day. Kids will know no limits of humiliation with this one.

    Posted by lbwoodgate | August 9, 2014, 1:46 pm
    • Apparently so. There’s also Osbaldo, Rocket and Tintin. Cheese…what possessed them? They could at least have been specific…Stilton has a certain aura about it (especially if it’s been left out of the fridge too long…). Or Roquefort, if you want to be aristocratic. Wensleydale wouldn’t be too bad; you could shorten it to Wensley.

      Posted by elainecanham | August 9, 2014, 1:53 pm
  12. Cheese? Oh I do hope their children sue them!

    >

    Posted by Loretta Livingstone | August 9, 2014, 12:51 pm
  13. Bristol isn’t too bad, but Sarah Palin’s sons are Track and Trig. Though the worst I’ve seen are odd spellings of normal names. Worst one to date for me is: Mykill. That’s Michael spelled by coming ‘my’ and ‘kill’. Have to admit it took a lot of willpower not to question that one.

    Posted by Charles Yallowitz | August 9, 2014, 12:45 pm
  14. Reblogged this on Smorgasbord – Variety is the spice of life and commented:
    Well what is the worst baby name that you have come across – I must say the trend for ‘celebrities’ to name their babies after the place of their conception is a bit daft. Children have a problem with their parents having sex in the first place but to have to go through life knowing that they certainly did imbibe in Coventry or Inverness is a stigma too far!! I am not a fan of the Kardashian clan but do wonder ‘North’ of where! Certainly a post to get you thinking this morning….

    Posted by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life. | August 9, 2014, 12:39 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

