>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing), Uncategorized

Holiday snaps

IMG_0267

Well, I’m back from my hols. The suitcases are spilling their guts all over the house, the dogs have come back from the kennels, and I’ve thrown away the orange I found mouldering on the kitchen counter.

I’ve been to the supermarket and stocked up on beer and bread and jammy dodgers and such fare as you lay before the faces of husbands and teenage children, and I’ve put away my shorts for another year.

IMG_0234

I’ve got some nice pictures, including one of a beauty salon in Bordeaux, that my cousin Douglas seems unaccountably to have given his name to. We spent the day in the city, shopping and farting about in the sunlit squares and generally behaving like happy tourists.

IMG_0239

But the best memory is of our first night. Son, 14, who was in rather a giddy mood, decided to wind up his sister by thrusting her hairbrush down the front of this pyjama bottoms. ‘Look Rose,’ he crowed rather disgustingly. ‘Look what I’m doing with your hairbrush.’ To which his sister witheringly replied, ‘That’s not my hairbrush. That’s dad’s.’

IMG_0223

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

27 thoughts on “Holiday snaps

  1. Jammie Dodger sounds like something we have in NZ, whose name eludes me at the moment. When Spouse get ’em in (very rarely now) I offend by using mine as a scoop for freshly whipped cream …

    Posted by Argus | September 17, 2014, 10:30 pm
  2. Jealous. That is all.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | September 16, 2014, 1:48 pm
  3. Bordeaux looks lovely.

    Posted by Jools | August 26, 2014, 4:28 pm
  4. That’s what a jammy dodger is?! I love those! Every time I pass them in stores I have to slap my hand before it reaches the box. 🙂

    Posted by rosedandrea | August 25, 2014, 8:20 am
  5. Funny seeing photos of where I live. We might have bumped into one another—I live about five minutes walk from Place de la Victoire!

    Posted by Jane Dougherty | August 24, 2014, 3:50 pm
  6. Oh I think I would LOVE jammie dodgers!

    Posted by Mom | August 23, 2014, 8:52 pm
  7. Blow the trumpets
    Bang the drums
    Back to England
    Elaine comes!

    And I just love the brush with fate.

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | August 23, 2014, 8:03 pm
    • Ooh I say! Bang the trumpets, blow the drums, Bruce the Goodman this way comes! Bit derivative, but the best I can do under the circs (I have sneaked away from the new Doctor Who at the moment, because it is just too scary). Yes, I thought the brush was very funny, too. Steve; not so sure.

      Posted by elainecanham | August 23, 2014, 8:39 pm
  8. Hilarious! This would happen at my house too! Welcome home 🙂
    ps…what is a Jammy Dodger?

    Posted by Mom | August 23, 2014, 2:38 pm
    • Gosh, we really need to organise an international biscuit convention. A jammie dodger is a circular shortbread biscuit, layered with jam, topped with a shortbread ring, so that there is a circle of jam in the centre. I don’t much care for them, because the jam is too sticky, but the rest of my family love them. Thanks for the welcome back!

      Posted by elainecanham | August 23, 2014, 4:32 pm
    • I agree. It’s an important topic, and really, we all ought to be on the same page regarding biscuits. Do you think the UN would let us use it’s facilities for our purposes? I used to live across the street– They really don’t seem to do very much.

      Posted by naptimethoughts | September 16, 2014, 1:47 pm
    • I think it should. I think biscuits are the way forward in world peace. If everybody had to sit down, brew up and crack open a packet of chocolate hob nobs, there would be very little excuse for shooting at anything. You get on to the UN and I’ll go out and get an assortment of Fox’s fancies.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 16, 2014, 2:27 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: SIMPLICITY | RAGNAROK or BUST - September 19, 2014

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

