>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

No ice, please

What’s all this with the ice bucket challenge? Is the world going mad, or is it just me? I was challenged yesterday, and I’m going to refuse, partly because I’ve already donated, and partly because, well, I don’t want ice poured all over me. I can’t really see the point.

Ok, so I understand all the reasoning about ice giving you the same numbing feeling that you get with ALS (or cerebellar ataxia, for that matter, which definitely needs research). And good for all the people who have accepted the challenge. But I’m with the Australian newsreader Lincoln Humphries on this one:

‘I nominate everyone everywhere has more than what they need to donate what they can to the people who need it most. Because that is what charity is about – not putting yourself through mild discomfort with a bucket of ice and water. Ice is for keeping produce fresh, beer cold, and your nipples hard. Deal with it.’

I gave my dosh to help research into cerebellar ataxia which, like ALS, is a progressive neurodegenerative disease. My friend Bob Gurney, who died earlier this month, suffered from it for 10 years. He was taken away from his family and normal life piece by piece. The charity funding research into ataxia is tiny and if you would like to give them something, they are at http://www.ataxia.org.uk

 

 

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

16 thoughts on “No ice, please

  1. Couldn’t agree more about the whole ice bucket thing! And my mum died from ataxia so I’m right there with you. Thanks for liking my post, and it’s great to come over your way and see what you’re doing.

    Posted by jane | September 16, 2014, 7:38 am
  2. If my FB feed hadn’t been clogged up 24/7 for weeks with post after post of daft annoying and samey IBCs, I might feel more kindly towards it. But it was, and I don’t.

    Posted by Tara Sparling | September 3, 2014, 10:59 am
  3. Thanks for this post. I wasn’t aware of cerebral ataxia. I’ve wondered about the ice bucket challenge myself, but, oh well. Can you ever figure out what people will do and why?

    Posted by DonnaK | September 1, 2014, 2:13 pm
  4. ITS SO STUPID. Just give money. Do you really think all those sad people suffering from this wretched disease want to watch your sad ass dumping ice over your head? NO. They want your sad, ice covered, misunderstanding the point, first world problems ass to DONATE MONEY to FIND AN F’ING CURE.
    Jesus.
    Allright, I think I’m okay now. I just had to get that off my chest.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | August 30, 2014, 6:12 pm
  5. Nipples on the rocks. That’s something I’ve never tried.

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | August 29, 2014, 8:57 pm
  6. Spot on! Charity is definitely about helping others and not pouring icewater on yourself.

    Posted by Nida S. | August 29, 2014, 1:20 pm
  7. Interesting. I took the precaution of Googling Zaphod (Breeblebrox, BTW, although the internet is infested with scores of pale imitations called Breeblebox) I’d forgotten my fleeting contact with the Hitchhiker’s guide lo these many, many years ago. As for dressing like him, I insist on knowing what he wore. If it was lederhosen forget it. Bow ties are out too. Done them. Even the clip-ons are a bit complicated for my current state of mental functioning and manual dexterity.

    Posted by penjedi | August 29, 2014, 11:46 am
  8. Oh absolutely. Write ON!
    I’m a little jaded about wildfire campaigns for research funds. Medical research is a serious business, too often funded by big pharma, to fund studies to show that their drug is 15.5% OR 395% better than theirs, (19 times out of twenty) The orphan diseases (And true, ALS is one of these, with too few sufferers to offer profit for poor Swiss based Pharmex) are grossly inadequately funded. Mental Health is another example. That’s where my measly contribution is going. So ALS gets $40M US at last count? Good for them. Now who’s got a gimmick for bipolar disorder?

    Posted by penjedi | August 29, 2014, 10:46 am

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

