>>
you're reading...
Creative Writing

The editor’s mug

It’s been nearly a year since I started my blog, and this was one of my first posts. I’m still very fond of it, partly because it reminds me of how mad and funny it was to work on Fleet Street. And some of it is true…

Writer's notebook

I want to tell you a true story. It’s about a man I once worked with. We were both subs (copyeditors) on a daily newspaper. The work was hard, the shifts were long, but we all had four-day rotas, which meant that the blocks of graft were cemented with decent layers of days off. There was also a pub nearby which we went to at any given opportunity, and we got paid very well, so you needn’t feel too sorry for us.

And then, horror of horrors. A new editor arrived. He was ok, as far as editors go. The only limitation being that, on Thursdays, he would speak only Latin. Nobody knew why. But then that is the way, and the right, of kings and editors. ‘Quintus ubi est argumentum?’ he would demand, of no one in particular, as the newsroom hummed with shouted obscenities from the sweating subs…

View original post 627 more words

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “The editor’s mug

  1. Hi Elaine, I nominated you for ‘A Lovely Blog Award’ over at my blog and you can check it out here:
    http://bunglinghousewife.wordpress.com/2014/09/02/the-lovely-blog/

    Have a lovely day!

    Posted by Sally | September 2, 2014, 10:43 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

