>>
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Don’t do it, girls

What is the deal with people shaving their eyebrows and then having them tattooed back on again? Is it me, or is this truly weird?

It seems to me that plenty of people think they’re going to end up looking like this:

marilyn monroe

When in fact, they end up looking like this:

dogs-with-eyebrows02

Or even, God forbid, this.

dogs-with-eyebrows08

There is a story in the Daily Mail about a woman who is so distraught after paying £120 for new eyebrows, that she can’t now leave her house. (Bit of a mystery therefore as to why she has agreed to have her photo taken by a national newspaper, but hey, it’s a free country.) The paper says she will have to wait up to six years for the look to fade. 

£120???? Here’s an amazing beauty tip, girls. It’s called a pencil. It’ll cost you a fiver and if you don’t like your new brows, you can rub them off in six seconds. Yes, really.

Wish somebody had told this guy:

emperor ming

And as a final plea, will people please stop drawing on their dogs? It may be funny. But it’s not fair, and one day, some canine karma will definitely bite you in the butt.

Then again, you may already have had your eyebrows tattooed.

Pictures via Creative Commons, from:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Monroe_piercing

http://www.looneypalace.com/dogs-with-eyebrows/

http://fc04.deviantart.net/fs70/i/2012/039/4/d/ming_of_mongo_by_andepoul-d4p41ho

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

39 thoughts on “Don’t do it, girls

  1. The first little dog looks like he is so ashamed. But I agree! Stop drawing on your dogs!

    Posted by Priceless Joy | September 12, 2014, 10:55 pm
  2. I’m a man who likes the thicker eyebrow, I can reveal, so shaving them off would be an act of madness, beyond even my imagining, and I certainly feel the same about women’s eyebrows. Why people fiddle with things which are often naturally beautiful I cannot say. The same is not true of waists of course 😦

    Posted by Peter Wells aka Countingducks | September 9, 2014, 6:36 pm
  3. Dear Ms Canham,
    Please stop publishing my picture without my direct permission. I understand people are now copying my status as a style icon and having their eyebrows tattooed on in the shape of mine.
    I’ve consulted lawyers on all my worlds to take legal action if you don’t cease and desist.
    Hugs
    Ming the Merciless.

    Posted by davidprosser | September 9, 2014, 3:55 pm
  4. Perhaps there is a shortage of eyebrow pencils due to all the people making up their dogs? Maybe we should start some sort of public service campaign to educate these poor women (and in turn, save their pooches). 🙂

    Posted by Nan Sampson | September 9, 2014, 2:27 pm
    • Now that is a good idea. Although I think the dogs have been done with black markers, and apparently, there are instructional videos on YouTube. But you didn’t get this from me. Ok?

      Posted by elainecanham | September 9, 2014, 3:07 pm
  5. Elaine, of everything I have ever read of yours, I think this is your finest work. I know, I know, it’s not much… But it’s freaking hysterical. I nearly peed myself at the dog pictures.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | September 9, 2014, 12:41 pm
    • I know, it’s shameful to laugh, but I can’t help it. That poor pug…what were its owners thinking??? Still, the women look nearly as bad, which is kind of comforting.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 9, 2014, 12:48 pm
    • They do the same thing in America, but that’s the first time I’ve heard of tattooing them back on. Usually it’s just a single pencil line drawn on at an angle that makes them look very, very surprised.

      Posted by naptimethoughts | September 9, 2014, 1:24 pm
    • It seems to be the latest craze here. And it looks so daft. And painful.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 9, 2014, 1:26 pm
    • I’m hopping the next plane to London, just to see ladies with tattoo eyebrows.
      I think if I tattooed my eyebrows, I would make them interesting. Maybe write something in really small cursive, or tattoo on a huge unibrow. Or a procession of tiny animals walking above my eyes.

      Posted by naptimethoughts | September 9, 2014, 5:23 pm
    • You’ve been pipped to the post, I’m afraid. I give you http://i.imgur.com/d3Mkq.jpg This girl has, well, I’m not quite sure what she’s done. But it’s decorative.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 9, 2014, 8:48 pm
    • It is… decorative. I was thinking maybe something smaller, that would be mistaken for real eyebrows unless you were very close to my deformity. I mean, eyebrow tattoos.
      Perhaps for those with alopecia.

      Posted by naptimethoughts | September 9, 2014, 9:32 pm
    • I’d have to have more than alopecia to tattoo a grape vine on my forehead. Dementia, possibly.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 9, 2014, 9:37 pm
  6. We really are a silly species. But I particularly detest that some feel compelled to shave/groom/colour their pet’s coats in a manner beyond a standard trim. That practice is just wrong, IMHO.

    Posted by Maggie Wilson | September 9, 2014, 12:17 pm
  7. A little character improvement would be better than working on one’s style but then I haven’t got money to piss up a wall with. 🙂

    Posted by lbwoodgate | September 9, 2014, 12:11 pm
  8. Yesterday, we went into a cafe and saw a man with full face tattoo, I suspect to go with his full body tattoo. It was hard to know whether one was supposed to stare or look away, it was very uncomfortable. Personally I think the world has gone mad on the inking front. Surly all the lady with the tattoed eyebrows needs to do it trowel on a load of thick foundation and then draw on where she wants with said £5 pencil?

    Posted by Karen | September 9, 2014, 11:00 am
    • I suppose she could tippex them out. I was inspired to write this post by an ad on facebook from a ‘beauty’ therapist whose eyebrows would scare the bejeepers out of you.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 9, 2014, 11:13 am
  9. Love it! As a high brow cow with no brows, not even low ones (blonde, thinning, invisible), I have since my teens, been forced to colour mine in. I’m a big fan of twizzle brow pencils. The idea of tattooing ones face is freak-show territory. Not for me.

    Posted by Jools | September 9, 2014, 10:48 am
    • It’s strange that these women don’t seem to know about pencils, when there are all these people out there happily colouring in dog’s eyebrows. I’ve even seen dogs done with duct tape. Mad.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 9, 2014, 10:55 am
  10. Lol. This is really satirical I love that someone thinks like me. It really is a mockery on creation.

    Posted by amoafowaa | September 9, 2014, 10:01 am
  11. I’m not commenting or liking anyone at present, but would nonetheless like to say (if I was liking or commenting) that all this is a bit too high brow for me.

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | September 9, 2014, 9:54 am
    • Oh, Bruce! How lovely not to hear from you. If you were commenting, though, I would advise that if you did happen to meet one of these women, best not to say, how now brow cow.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 9, 2014, 10:00 am
    • In my teens, I was in a play called “Dry Rot”, and I had to say, “The robin is on the bough”. I never had a clue what it meant, and still don’t, but it’s the only line I remember from the play. AND bough rhymes with eye-brough. I’m so glad not to be commenting.

      Posted by Bruce Goodman | September 9, 2014, 10:03 am
    • According to Google, Dry Rot is a farce. Very low brow.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 9, 2014, 10:07 am
    • I shall Google it myself, once I decide to get back on the computer!

      Posted by Bruce Goodman | September 9, 2014, 10:10 am
    • Ach, away and stand in your summer sunshine, and give your garden my love.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 9, 2014, 10:18 am

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

