>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing), Shop talk (anything and everything on writing)

Why are we all so passionate?

So...where do you stand on direct resourcing?

So…where do you stand on direct resourcing?

 

What is it with the word passionate?

I had an email from a guy yesterday who, get this, is hugely passionate about direct resourcing and offering expertise to a full 360 degree recruitment process in-house.

Come again?

Everybody’s doing it. I saw a guy on Twitter who is passionately discovering the world, and another who is passionate about gardening. Gardening??? Wtf??

I don’t know what a 360 degree recruitment process is, but maybe I ought to. Especially if it’s going to make me feel [hugely] intense, impassioned, ardent, fervent, zealous, vehement, fiery, heated, feverish, emotional, heartfelt, eager, excited, animated, spirited, vigorous, strong, energetic, messianic, fanatical, frenzied, wild, fierce, consuming, violent, tumultuous, flaming, raging, burning, uncontrollable, ungovernable…(that’s enough definitions, ed).

Frankly, I’m exhausted. I’ve spent all morning on my hands and knees trowelling madly in the wet earth, coping with my hugely tumultuous, flaming, ungovernable desire for spring bulbs, and now I have to face my raging, all consuming, ungovernable feelings for direct resourcing.

According to jobsearch.com it is certain that in a job interview you will be asked what you are passionate about.

Apparently you’re supposed to reply by saying you like helping your mother with household repairs, or possibly attending evening art classes. Do not, I urge you, tell your interviewer that you’re feeling frenzied about a bit of sawing, or that you have erotic feelings over Constable’s Hay Wain. Although, frankly, any twit who wants you to be passionate about direct resourcing deserves everything they get.

Why can’t people just say they like doing something?

picture courtesy of http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Mauch_Passionate_kiss.jpg via Creative Commons

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

38 thoughts on “Why are we all so passionate?

  1. We need more passion in the world, but less in direct resourcing.

    Posted by Steve Morris | October 12, 2014, 6:03 pm
  2. Ooooooh, baby. I like those tax returns right in my inbox. Stick those 1040 forms right there…

    Posted by naptimethoughts | September 16, 2014, 11:44 pm
  3. I’m going to say this. I don’t read your Blog enough because, genuinely, you always make me laugh with your wry humour. Feeling passionate about the new photo-copier is something I have to work on, but I loved the picture at the beginning of the book which speaks of a world known before the age of management rara speak

    Posted by Peter Wells aka Countingducks | September 16, 2014, 5:23 pm
    • Do you mean the picture at the top of the post? It’s called A Passionate Kiss, and was painted by Richard Mauch in 1911. I like it, but I keep thinking its the girl who has the moustache. Thanks for dropping by. I don’t come and see you often enough, either.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 16, 2014, 7:30 pm
  4. I don’t think I am strong enough for all this…..

    Posted by Jools | September 16, 2014, 4:59 pm
  5. I rarely use the word, ‘passionate’, but I am quite liberal with ‘love’ and ‘amazing’. With everyone throwing around over the top phrases like ‘mind blowing’, ‘truly awesome’ and ‘spectacular’, the word ‘like’ just feels inadequate now.

    Posted by jennifer Windram | September 16, 2014, 4:03 pm
  6. And they’re all putting 110% of their effort into being passionate about everything. Exhausing indeed.

    Posted by Jools | September 16, 2014, 9:19 am
  7. Funny and true, Elaine. Not only do people “love” to exaggerate but then there’s all the advice about using strong and powerful words to market things. Oh, were are the simple, plain spoken people… I guess not in sales or Twitter!

    Posted by olganm | September 16, 2014, 8:20 am
    • Yes, I wonder what we’d make of an advert that said, ‘Buy this coffee, it’s rather nice…. Actually, thinking about it, that’s sort of the line that Aldi take in their TV adverts, and they’re really good.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 16, 2014, 8:25 am
  8. Passion is like much of the rain we get here in Texas. It fizzles out before it gets a chance to accomplish anything

    Posted by lbwoodgate | September 16, 2014, 3:40 am
    • Is passion meant to accomplish something? I thought it was something that overwhelmed you while you were thinking about collective bargaining or ideational metafunctions

      Posted by elainecanham | September 16, 2014, 8:19 am
  9. haha loved this! It’s about time someone brought up the ‘passionate’ bug. This word spurts out a feeling that makes other ‘non-passionate’ people like me feel useless:p.

    Posted by Nida S. | September 15, 2014, 10:37 pm
    • Don’t feel useless, feel good that you don’t take words out of context and squeeze them until they lose all their meaning. Words have rights too 🙂

      Posted by elainecanham | September 15, 2014, 10:43 pm
  10. I suppose I’m stuck with saying I like Titterton’s Pork Pies from now on then, No more can I waffle in such an ardent way when the first mouthful is taken and my stomach sings out in delight.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | September 15, 2014, 8:41 pm
    • Ah, but you can let your stomach do your passionate rumbling for you. Although you could say you were feeling messianic about a Melton Mowbray, or uncontrollably ardent about Dickinson and Morris. Go for it, you tumultuous hugger, you! xx

      Posted by elainecanham | September 15, 2014, 8:55 pm
  11. Oh you women are all the same! So into logic and objectivity. How little you understand the male. We really like/love being passionate. We are obsessed with passion. We drown in floods of passionate direct resourcing… The wonder of “Wuthering Heights” is that Emily Bronte could think like a man!

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | September 15, 2014, 7:22 pm
    • Yes, Bruce, but you gave yourself away by saying that you just like or love being passionate. You’re not vehement or messianic about it. And if Heathcliffe had told Cathy at any point, that he was passionate about double entry book-keeping, she’d have clocked him one, and quite right too. Because she was properly passionate, fiery, intense and all the rest of the list.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 15, 2014, 7:31 pm
    • 😀 Heathcliffe did bash his head against the tree trunk “like a wild animal”. But I take your point; it wasn’t over some building consent from the council over erecting a new wing onto Thrushcross Grange.

      Posted by Bruce Goodman | September 15, 2014, 8:22 pm
    • Heathcliffe, dear! you should not be sullen now. Do come to me Heathcliffe, and I will support you in the development of technology enhanced materials and learning practices.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 15, 2014, 8:32 pm
    • We could do trigonometry together.

      Posted by Bruce Goodman | September 15, 2014, 9:31 pm
    • I’m not very passionate about t’trigonometry, Heathcliffe. I keep going off at a tangent.

      Posted by elainecanham | September 15, 2014, 9:41 pm
    • But you always take an interesting angle. (And with that, as one who is not currently commenting, I return to my silence).

      Posted by Bruce Goodman | September 15, 2014, 10:21 pm
    • Nice seeing you…

      Posted by elainecanham | September 15, 2014, 10:25 pm
  12. I have the same feeling when wearing my nutritional hat and clients tell me that they love salt, sugar and chocolate and cannot possibly live without them……

    Posted by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life. | September 15, 2014, 6:49 pm
  13. Lol! You know, I never thought about how cavalierly people throw around the word ‘passionate’ before you mentioned it but now that I think of it, you’re completely right! So what we you passionate about? Other than planting bulbs of course

    Posted by Sally | September 15, 2014, 6:43 pm
    • I felt almost messianic about the ironing…and I trembled with barely suppressed emotions when I had to stack the dishwasher. I live in a fiery vortex…but then don’t we all, these days? 🙂

      Posted by elainecanham | September 15, 2014, 6:55 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

