>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

Happy birthday, mum

mumuniform

My mum is 94 today. As I’ve said before, she still lives on her own, and does her own cooking and shopping. I’ve written elsewhere about her spirit and coolness in the face of danger. And her handiness on a Scrabble board. I just want to say what happened after I visited her this week.

When she came out of her flat to wave me off, I got cross because she didn’t want to use her walking stick. ‘Ach,’ she said, picking it up in disgust. ‘You’re making me old.’

Happy birthday, mum.

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Happy birthday, mum

  1. That’s so impressive. I’ve got an aunt who is 98.8 and has the most amazing attitude to life. She is basically in working order and has a great attitude to those bits which are not.

    Posted by Peter Wells aka Countingducks | October 24, 2014, 6:44 pm
  2. that’s awesome! Happy Birthday to her.

    Posted by ilyasstory | October 24, 2014, 7:54 am
  3. Not only is she a young St heart 94 but she is also a very clever astute lady, and I am very lucky to be her daughter in law.

    Posted by Dee Scott | October 23, 2014, 8:21 pm
  4. I love her spirit. I hope she just keeps going and enters a scrabble championship or two.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | October 23, 2014, 10:10 am
    • She would win, because if she didn’t like how somebody played she would just change the rules. My sister in law and I are taking her out for lunch today; it’ll be great

      Posted by elainecanham | October 23, 2014, 10:45 am

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

