>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

Dress down Fridays

Fellow blogger Naptime Thoughts has been sending me pictures of Walmart People. These are rather oddly dressed people who go shopping in the US supermarket chain Walmart (which owns Asda). For example:

walmart1

and there’s:

walmart2

Or possibly even:

walmart3

She asked me if we have anything similar in Britain, and I’m afraid I’m a bit out of my depth. The closest I could find was Tesco asking customers in its 24-hour stores not to come shopping in their pyjamas.

walmart4

But frankly, if you have nice jammies, why not? So, instead, I thought I’d do a post on people on the London Underground. The joy of London, is that it doesn’t matter what you look like, nobody takes any notice of you. At All. Many foreigners think this is because we are polite. It’s more to with Not Wanting To Get Involved With A Nutter.

I give you life on the Tube:

Fans of Hartlepool United (don’t ask):

walmart5

A pink elf:

walmart6

And my personal favourite:

walmart7

Poor bloke. I know the Northern Line is bad, but he obviously got on at Embalment.

Pictures courtesy of Pinterest:

http://media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/c2/69/34/c26934e118a56154562c707c15f55c4f

http://media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/ee/b6/e6/eeb6e633ba731b08c9d659e947f84784

People of Walmart:

http://media.peopleofwalmart.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/2211

Qlocal:

http://www.qlocal.co.uk/forums/pics7/ots/hh170

Daily Mirror:

http://i4.mirror.co.uk/incoming/article823103.ece/alternates/s615/TWITTER%20PICTURE%20OF%20HARTLEPOOL%20FANS%20IN%20SMURFS%20FANCY%20DRESS%20TRAVELLING%20TO%20AND%20FROM%20THE%20CHARTLON%20MATCH

The fad:

http://thefad.pl/sites/default/files/underground-2.

The Telegraph:

http://i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/02445/tube1_2445823k

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

39 thoughts on “Dress down Fridays

  1. Fantastic! At least the ones in the London Tube don’t take themselves seriously (I hope!)

    Posted by olganm | November 9, 2014, 12:01 am
  2. You guys don’t have Wal-Mart? Somehow, I just figured they would have invaded by now. It really is the saddest store in the universe. We tried shopping there once to save money and our daughter asked us not to go again. She was like nine at the time and pretty much impervious to depression but that place did the trick nicely.

    Posted by David Pandolfe | November 8, 2014, 1:07 am
    • We have Asda, which Walmart bought. But it’s just a normal supermarket which sells stuff quite cheaply. I’ve never seen anybody there looking like the people from Walmart

      Posted by elainecanham | November 8, 2014, 10:49 am
  3. If I have to die laughing, it’s the best way to go. 😀

    Posted by Let's CUT the Crap! | November 7, 2014, 6:43 pm
  4. I’m impressed. How the heck do you take selfies like that?

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | November 7, 2014, 6:36 pm
  5. Elaine, I told you that photo was PRIVATE. But I’ll let you off this time.

    Posted by Tara Sparling | November 7, 2014, 3:05 pm
  6. Where can I get one of those armpit lamps? Just what I need to hypnotise young women with interesting but long-winded messages on the front of their tee shirts.

    Posted by penjedi | November 7, 2014, 3:04 pm
  7. Gordon Bennet, as if we didn’t have enough nutters of our own you now import them. I must admit though the two Walmart ladies give a whole new meaning to dressing down.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | November 7, 2014, 2:53 pm
  8. Ah, the People of Walmart. They’re quite proud of themselves. You can find pictures of them posing in their… whatever it is they might be wearing, or not wearing… proudly, as if ti say “we’re America”. The rest of us are not so proud, but the rest of us have teeth and high school diplomas.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | November 7, 2014, 2:32 pm
  9. Oh Lord, please never send a Walmart to this hemisphere….or for that matter, a London tube train. 😁

    Posted by cheergerm | November 7, 2014, 1:25 pm
  10. That’s a lot of Smurfs.

    Posted by Charles Yallowitz | November 7, 2014, 12:46 pm
  11. Belly laughs for a Friday. Fantastic!

    Posted by Jools | November 7, 2014, 12:43 pm
  12. I’m pretty sure you have to be a more “mature” age before pants will cover your boobs, after time and gravity have had their way with them. 🙂

    Posted by lbwoodgate | November 7, 2014, 12:38 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

