>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

Remembering Reg, an Old Contemptible

reg

Today is Armistice Day, and I want to pay tribute to Reg Hill, one of the last of the Old Contemptibles.

He was awarded the Croix de Guerre with star for conspicuous gallantry and I was sent to interview him when I worked on a weekly newspaper. Being a junior reporter and only 19 I didn’t really know much about anything, and that day when I arrived on his doorstep in November 1978 was no exception. My knowledge of the Great War was fairly sketchy and I had just pushed the doorbell when I realised I had nothing to write on and nothing to write with.

croix de guerre

But by then it was too late. Reg had already opened his front door. He was 96 and he looked small and vulnerable. I couldn’t help thinking that he actually looked like a tortoise that had lost its shell. But in two ticks he had welcomed me in, brushed off my ineptness, put the kettle on and given me a pen and a fancy boxed set of paper and envelopes to write on.

Reg was with the British Expeditionary Force present in France up to to the end of the First Battle of Ypres on 22 November 1914. Emperor Wilhelm II of Germany, who was famously dismissive of the BEF, reportedly issued an order on 19 August 1914 to ‘exterminate… the treacherous English and walk over General French’s contemptible little army.’

Sixty four years later Reg settled into his armchair and said, ‘There’s only three of us Old Contemptibles left in North Bucks now. That’s what Kaiser Bill called us. So we thought, right, that’s our name then.’

Reg was a sergeant artificer in the Rocket Troop of the Royal Horse Artillery in 1916. ‘We were in the trenches after a bit of a do, and we were being shelled and I heard this voice shouting, ‘Blesse, blesse,’ and I knew that meant, wounded, see, in French. So I put my head above the parapet and I could see this bloke lying out in No Man’s Land. I couldn’t just leave him there, could I?’

Despite his mates’ best advice not to risk it, Reg scrambled over the top, under fire, ran to the man and heaved him on to his back.

‘We were heavily shelled – I had to jump into shell holes three times on the way back,’ said Reg. ‘Terrible places, they were. Full of water.’

And he carried that man on his back all the way to the nearest first aid post. ‘They made such a fuss when I got there,’ he said, in some wonderment. ‘And being French, they insisted on plying me with wine before they let me go back.’

Reg went on to fight at Vimy Ridge and Passchendaele, and survived both, before being invalided out with a wounded arm.

‘I always go to the Remembrance Day services,’ he said. ‘Because I lost some good chums. No mistake about that.’

Reg died not long after that interview and was missed by many. I still think of him.

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

14 thoughts on “Remembering Reg, an Old Contemptible

  1. I loved this. I’m always struck. of course, by their enormous levels of courage, but also their modesty when they recall their deeds, as their actions were nothing special when we know they were quite the opposite. The world is a poorer place for their passing.

    Posted by Peter Wells aka Countingducks | November 11, 2014, 10:14 pm
  2. Great stuff Elaine, and so poignant today, of all days.
    Best wishes, Pete. x

    Posted by beetleypete | November 11, 2014, 8:50 pm
  3. I’ll raise a glass to Reg Hill.

    Posted by john zande | November 11, 2014, 6:26 pm
  4. What a great chance to meet an inspiring man. I met a little old man at our church, and later found out that he was involved in the tracking of a Japanese admiral who’s death after his plane was shot down shortened WWII for the US.

    Ordinary people in extraordinary times who rose to the occasion.

    Posted by billgncs | November 11, 2014, 5:47 pm
    • I think for me the most memorable thing was the contrast between how unassuming he was, making me, a scatty teenager a cup of tea, and finding me a pen, and the outstanding bravery he had shown in extraordinary circumstances. He was lovely, and amazing.

      Posted by elainecanham | November 11, 2014, 5:58 pm
    • a hero and a gentleman – how appropriate.

      Posted by billgncs | November 11, 2014, 6:20 pm
  5. It’s amazing how we are taught about history and wars seem like such a faraway event. And then, we read about interviews such as this, and realize they were real people. Thanks for sharing!

    Posted by Nicholas C. Rossis | November 11, 2014, 5:09 pm
    • Yes, it was made very real for me, talking to him. He was a bit non plussed that I knew so little, and yet he was so lovely about it. I still think about him. You see these acts of heroism in films, and then you meet a real hero, and it stays with you forever.

      Posted by elainecanham | November 11, 2014, 5:17 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

