>>
you're reading...
humour, Shop talk (anything and everything on writing)

Confessions of a lapsed writer

twatt1

I am supposed to be taking part in NaNoWriMo. But I have to confess, I’ve been backsliding. First part of my romantic novel; a breeze. They meet, he’s handsome she’s starchy, they cross swords (not literally, but actually…that’s an idea) they kiss and then…..oh, I dunno. It’s not got enough oomph. So, naturally, I’ve been displacing like mad.

twatt2

I have cleaned the picture rails in the kitchen. (Why? Who looks at them?)

I have cleaned the oven (actually I got my husband to do that, while I had a cup of tea and supervised. It’s very therapeutic watching other people work).

twatt3

I have been watching Strictly Come Dancing It takes Two on Catch Up TV. (How sad is that???) But really, Judy had to go, for the good of the collective. She was stiffer than, well, a stiff. And if you get to the point where the only thing in your favour as a dancer is your mum’s shortbread then, really, it is time to shuffle off.

I have been wandering through YouTube, looking at all those Armstrong and Miller pilot sketches. This one has to be my favourite:

But really, there is nothing to beat looking up pictures of all the silly place names in Britain.

twatt4

I know, I know. Back to work.

twatt5

 

https://farm3.staticflickr.com/2547/4246252306_6e69237222_q.jpg

 

https://elainecanham.files.wordpress.com/2014/11/d9fd4-twatt.jpg

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Dull_and_Boring.JPG

http://www.angmohdan.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/557249_578251158857618_1628620583_n.jpg

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

34 thoughts on “Confessions of a lapsed writer

  1. Brief idea about the romantic novel. They kiss and all his teeth fall out. she jumps back revolted, of course, but will their love overcome this setback, and can the dentist restore his square jawline. I’ve never tried for the Nanona whatever, because I don’t like to write as if I’m in a race. I do try and set word count goals but its not a rigid rule.

    Posted by Peter Wells aka Countingducks | November 18, 2014, 10:34 pm
    • oh, and she can be sitting by him in the dentist’s chair, holding his hand, their eyes meeting through the safety specs..
      It reminds me of a time (and this is really revolting) that I was in a pub at some gangster’s wake, and ended up drinking with two very dodgy guys. And one of them said something and the ice cubes in his mouth fell in my drink….

      Posted by elainecanham | November 18, 2014, 10:48 pm
  2. You teaser you. I want to know what happens after they kiss. And P.S. Yes, I would be so embarrassed to live in a town with “Clousta” in its name. And P.S.S. Lucky Lane.

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | November 18, 2014, 6:16 pm
  3. OK, I have a question. Are you still working on other idea which was not the original NaNoWriMo idea? And if so, why are you answering this comment? 😀

    Posted by Tara Sparling | November 18, 2014, 5:49 pm
  4. Cousta Twatt sounds like a sexually transmitted disease.
    I told you, kill them off. Or just kill one of them off, and have the other one figure out who did it by hiring a private dick, and falling in love with the dick. And possibly ending up with Clousta Twatt in the end.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | November 18, 2014, 4:14 pm
  5. Heck Elaine, those must be the most stolen nameplates in the UK. I can imagine Shitterton and Happy Bottom gracing many a student’s bathroom wall. Thanks for the laugh now stop skiving. The sooner NaNo is done the sooner you can get back to blogging.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | November 18, 2014, 3:48 pm
  6. A change is as good as a rest, right? Hope you’ve found your second wind. ❤

    Posted by Let's CUT the Crap! | November 18, 2014, 2:42 pm
  7. I’d like to own property in Shitterton just so i can get mail to that address 🙂

    Posted by john zande | November 18, 2014, 1:45 pm
  8. Have you seen Dylan Hearn’s (Suffolk Scribblings) post on NaNo Procrastination?

    Posted by Jools | November 18, 2014, 1:21 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

