>>
you're reading...
humour

When men get ill…..

My husband had a hip replacement a while ago. And when he got home, as a patient, he was really, well, ok. Not half as bad as when he has a slight cold.

For the first couple of days, he really wasn’t brilliantly mobile. And on the first morning back from hospital, his legs swathed in compression bandages, he gave me a very funny look and said, ‘Would you do something for me, that I’ve never asked you to do before?’

‘Yes….’ I muttered, crossing my fingers and hoping it wasn’t going to be anything too disgusting.

He looked at me pleadingly. And I mean, really, really, pleadingly, and said: ‘Do you think you could help me off with my stockings?’

This is for every woman who has a husband with a slight cold:

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

23 thoughts on “When men get ill…..

  1. All men are the same. Gigantic babies, the lot of them.

    Posted by naptimethoughts | November 22, 2014, 11:49 pm
  2. That video is priceless! A man-cold indeed 😝 Though if I’m being honest, with my husband and me, the roles are usually reversed with him brushing off his illness while I languish in bed insisting I’m slowly dying πŸ˜“

    Posted by Sally | November 22, 2014, 5:08 am
  3. No, seriously though. What’s the best way to get through an attack? I know it’s rarely fatal, but the suffering is enormous. I gather that complete bedrest is now frowned upon and the sufferer is encouraged to assume a semi-recumbent position in a warm environment, with mild stimulation from BBC comedy DVDs and heist movies. To minimise depletion of precious energy resources, shaving, washing and dressing in street clothes are discouraged, and nutrition may be maintained with frequent small portions of pizza. Many alcoholic beverages are recommended for hydration but really, only red wine and pinot grigio have been proven to have any significant vitamin content. Beer is recommended by many experts and is an acceptable alternative to chianti. Medicines have some place for symptom control, and may enhance the anti-anxiety properties of the alcohol. As far as I’m concerned, if you have to be this sick, being slightly drunk is one way to escape the misery. By the way, the bell has been superseded by the discreet buzz from the mobile phone each attendant should carry at all times. The bell is much too harsh and disturbing a sound. Anyway, such devices should rarely be necessary if the attendant is vigilant, making sure that hydration, nutrition and vitamin intake are appropriately maintained.

    Posted by penjedi | November 21, 2014, 6:11 pm
    • Oh Yeah?????? I spect you know all this because of the slavish attention you pay to your nearest and dearest when they’re ill. I’m going to send this Sylvia, for reference when she has a cold….

      Posted by elainecanham | November 21, 2014, 10:10 pm
  4. Proof, at last, that men have evolved to be a lot more sensitive than women. Possibly, in the video, the woman felt terrible because she didn’t want to drag herself away from the sink.

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | November 21, 2014, 5:58 pm
  5. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    I’d call the paramedic myself. for ME! He can keep the bell. Ha ha ha.

    Posted by Let's CUT the Crap! | November 21, 2014, 5:28 pm
  6. Hey! We get worn down from constantly doing our “man up” routine so a little consideration please.

    The video was a riot.

    Posted by lbwoodgate | November 21, 2014, 1:34 pm
    • Of course. How insensitive of me, Larry. Just lie down and I’ll send you a tissue.
      Glad you liked the video. I think it was from a British TV comedy series called Man Stroke Woman. I love the bit where he says, Must go now, we have a man with a hurty knee in Acacia Avenue.

      Posted by elainecanham | November 21, 2014, 4:37 pm
  7. I love the video. Nick Frost is a comedy genius!
    I don’t normally link to my own blog from others but I thought I’d point you to a blog I write on this very subject almost a year ago. It will hopefully provide balance and prove that man flu is no laughing matter.*
    https://authordylanhearn.wordpress.com/2014/01/10/man-flu-the-facts/
    *This may be a lie

    Posted by Dylan Hearn | November 21, 2014, 11:46 am
  8. I knew I should have resisted the urge to watch, but no, I had to do it didn’t I. You women just don’t understand do you? We’re ill I tell you, ill.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | November 21, 2014, 11:21 am
  9. Haha! This reminds me of my husband soooo much!

    Posted by amandalyle1986 | November 21, 2014, 10:31 am

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

