>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

Happy birthday, baby

Rose1

Exactly 18 years ago today, I punched my husband. I was past speaking, but I hit him hard enough so that he fell half under the bed, with a muffled ‘Ow!’ At this point the midwife, who was a cross between a sergeant major and girls’ school hockey captain, told us both to behave and that she would not tolerate fighting on her labour ward. Quite what she was going to do if we continued, I don’t know, considering I was in the last gasping stages of giving birth.

Steve, in his defence, had been told to make himself useful by dabbing my lips with some damp cotton wool on the end of a stick. Being a technically minded kind of guy he set out carefully to poke every square micron of my mouth. I’m sure I told him to stop. He’s sure I didn’t. Whatever. The pethidine was wearing off and I was in no mood for being shakily dabbed at.

Shortly after that, everything changed entirely because Rose was born. We had waited so long for a baby that, even when she arrived, I couldn’t believe it. I remember looking at her and saying wonderingly, ‘It’s a baby.’ Honest to God, if she had been a puppy I would have been less surprised.

And now, as I say, it’s 18 years on and Rose is officially grown up. We’ve watched her grow from an intensely absorbed, imaginative little girl to a beautiful, generous and kind young woman. I know you don’t really like me mentioning you on my blog, Rose, but happy birthday, and thank you for being you.

rosebordeaux

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

18 thoughts on “Happy birthday, baby

  1. She is very pretty. From the sounds of her in your blog posts you and your husband have done a lovely job raising her. Congrats to you and Happy Birthday to Rose. 😀

    I’m due with my own daughter (first child) in about 7-ish weeks. It should be interesting to see what kind of stories I come back with. lol

    Posted by rosedandrea | December 5, 2014, 9:16 am
  2. HAPPY BIRTHDAY ROSE!

    Posted by Bruce Goodman | December 4, 2014, 6:39 pm
  3. Aww. I remember Rose when she was that little… she was a cutie. Still is, in fact. Happy Birthday Rose! mwah mwah xx

    Posted by Jools | December 4, 2014, 6:09 pm
  4. Happy birthdayyyy:)! Daughters are the best!

    Posted by Nida S. | December 4, 2014, 5:08 pm
  5. Happy birthday to a special girl. ❤ ❤

    Posted by Let's CUT the Crap! | December 4, 2014, 3:05 pm
  6. Many Happy Returns to your daughter. Congratulations to you and Steve for turning out such a delightful, generous and kind young lady.When they reach the stage where their character sets in stone and the days of getting the hump so easily are over daughters are a delight. Mine is 37 next week ( and I’m glad it’s your blog I say that on and not mine) and I too love the sweet and generous spirit she grew in to.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | December 4, 2014, 2:07 pm
  7. Maybe I am one of the fortunate one’s whose wife never even looked at me cross-eyed while giving birth, on both occasions. She did make me promise that she would gets drugs if the pain was too excessive. I told her if I had any to spare I would be glad to share. It’s only fair since she seem to be contributing the greatest part of giving birth. 🙂

    Posted by lbwoodgate | December 4, 2014, 1:40 pm
  8. Those are very blue eyes in the first picture. Happy birthday.

    Posted by Charles Yallowitz | December 4, 2014, 12:33 pm
  9. Well a day to remember for more than just one reason… poor guy must have been terrified…. Happy Birthday to your daughter – she looks beautiful..

    Posted by Smorgasbord - Variety is the Spice of Life. | December 4, 2014, 10:01 am
    • No he wasn’t terrified. A bit surprised, I think. I hit him in the shoulder. But I think you get what you deserve if you irritate a woman in labour

      Posted by elainecanham | December 4, 2014, 10:05 am

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

