>>
you're reading...
Just stuff (things on my mind that aren't to do with writing)

Back to reality

january tea

So that’s it. Eleven days of national blow out, all come to an end. The party’s over, the socks made from recycled toothbrushes, a present from your auntie, have been shoved under the sofa, waiting to creep out in August. The bizarre half drunk bottle of orange brandy that your father in law brought round because he thought it might come in useful, has been stashed in the farthest recesses of your larder, waiting until you need to clean the drains. One or two pine needles litter the carpet, all that’s left of the tree, and there is a tiny piece of stuffing with fluff growing round it at the back of the fridge.

Alarm clocks are going off at unmentionable hours, bills are arriving, and the voices of the solar panel telephone salespeople are once more heard in the land. Truly they are cold calling.

All is gloom and ordinary.

Can you tell that I’ve given up drink for January?

 

Picture via creative commons, courtesy of http://fc00.deviantart.net/fs70/f/2014/081/9/f/pony_meme___get_me_a_cup_of_tea__by_twistermon-d7b84vr.png

About elainecanham

I started blogging because I'm a writer, and I thought I ought to. Now I realise that I blog because I like to; even when I can't think of much to say.

Discussion

14 thoughts on “Back to reality

  1. I was going to give up drink, of course, but then I thought it would be cruel to leave that orange brandy languishing at the back of the cupboard just because it tasted dreadful, and lets face, a small helping of oblivion cannot harm, faced with these gruelling truths. We’ll get back into the swing of it, of course, but in the meantime, cheers and I hope your 2015 is a great one

    Posted by Peter Wells aka Countingducks | January 7, 2015, 3:19 pm
    • Half a bottle of orange brandy on its way to you, Peter. I hope you have a great new year, and that millions of people buy your books.

      Posted by elainecanham | January 7, 2015, 4:38 pm
  2. Bit of a shock after all the razzle dazzle of the holidays, parties and drinking. Never get used to it though. 😀
    You’ve given up drink? Oh my. 😮

    Posted by Let's CUT the Crap! | January 7, 2015, 1:15 am
  3. Who needs booze in January when you’ve got mind-altering misery to enjoy? Or is that just an Irish thing?

    Posted by Tara Sparling | January 6, 2015, 11:28 pm
    • I was enjoying it so much in fact, that I had to think for a moment what you were talking about when you mentioned my mind altering misery. Anyway, I’ve got two boxes of cherry liqueur chocolates left, and they’re enough to brighten anyone’s day. (They don’t count as alcohol. Because they’re chocolate)

      Posted by elainecanham | January 6, 2015, 11:58 pm
    • This is true. Nothing counts where chocolate is involved.

      Posted by Tara Sparling | January 7, 2015, 12:07 am
  4. Oh Dear, the very month you need a drink to keep you sane…and warm.
    xxx Huge Hugs xxx

    Posted by davidprosser | January 6, 2015, 8:30 pm
    • stop it, the pair of you. I am going to be good. I shall not wobble. Like the puritan soldiers I will be tough, grim and religious. Well maybe not the last part.

      Posted by elainecanham | January 6, 2015, 8:33 pm
  5. It’s depressing enough after the holidays without forgoing booze. Are you sure about this decision?

    Posted by David Pandolfe | January 6, 2015, 7:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Bloglovin

Follow on Bloglovin

Follow me on Twitter

